CMA Awards Preview: Who Will Win Male Vocalist of the Year?

Jason Aldean

James Minchin III

Wednesday night marks the 46th Annual Country Music Association Awards, live on ABC from Nashville's Bridgestone Arena. As usual, Billboard is your ticket to all things CMA this week. Today through Wednesday, we take a look at the three biggest categories – and offer our thoughts on what might happen when the winners are announced.

Taylor Swift and Kacey Musgraves Lead CMA Awards Nominations

Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Outlook from The 615: Nothing looks to be easy this year in picking the awards, and this category is definitely no exception. Blake Shelton has won this for the past three years, and has had no slowdown in sight. Keith Urban has also won it three years straight from 2004-2006. In fact, throw in Brad Paisley’s run from 2007-2009, this award seems to run in three-year stints. Shelton might very well be the one to break it, but history happens for a reason. So, look for a first-time winner in this one!

Who Will Win: Jason Aldean. He has consistently reigned on top of the charts. He’s waited his time, and that could come Wednesday night.