Kenny Rogers Announces 'You Can't Make Old Friends' Album, Duet With Dolly Parton

Kenny Rogers

Kenny Rogers is reuniting with an old friend. Actually, make that two old friends. The singer will be releasing "You Can't Make Old Friends" for Warner Brothers on Oct. 8 -- He was signed to the Warner imprint, Reprise, during his hit-making days with the First Edition back in the 1960s, and also released a pair of albums for the label in the late 80s and early 90s. 

The title cut from the album will feature someone that Rogers knows quite well: Dolly Parton. The two were on top of the music world three decades ago this fall with the classic "Islands In The Stream," and also topped the charts in 1985 with "Real Love."

"What a thrill it was for me to work again with my buddy, Dolly Parton, and what a special song," remarked Rogers. "Working with Dolly is always a little like going home. Everything felt comfortable."

Rogers worked with a collaboration of producers on the project, including Kyle Lehning, Warren Hartman, and Dann Huff. "You Can’t Make Old Friends" is Rogers’ first country album since the release of "Water & Bridges" in 2006. Rogers considers this upcoming release the most varied and complete album of his lifetime.

"I can honestly say this may be the best album I've ever recorded," he added. "The musical diversity is extraordinary. It goes from songs I would normally sing, to songs I would normally never even listen to. In this business, you do albums to both grow artistically, and for the sheer love of music. We chose what I think are the most diverse and best songs I've ever had access to."

Currently on his "Through The Years" world tour, Rogers will be formally inducted as a new member of the Country Music Hall of Fame next month in Nashville.

Kenny Rogers, "You Can't Make Old Friends" Track Listing
1. You Can't Make Old Friends (Duet With Dolly Parton)
2. All I Need Is One
3. You Had To Be There
4. ’Merica
5. Turn This World Around
6. Dreams Of The San Joaquin
7. Don’t Leave Me In The Night Time (Featuring Buckwheat Zydeco)
8. Look At You
9. Neon Horses
10. When You Love Someone
11. It’s Gonna Be Easy Now