Gibson Brothers
The Gibson Brothers

The Gibson Brothers have steadily built one of the top careers in Bluegrass music – culminating in last year’s win for Entertainer of the Year. This afternoon's announcement of nominations for the 2013 International Bluegrass Music Awards reflected their top-level status, as the duo accounted for eight nominations. Not far behind was Balsam Range with seven, along with Alison Krauss & Union Station, Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, and the Boxcars with six nods each.

Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. Results of the balloting will be revealed at the International Bluegrass Music Awards on Thursday, September 26, hosted by the Steep Canyon Rangers. The Awards Show is the centerpiece of World of Bluegrass Week, to be held September 24 – 28 in Raleigh, NC.

Individually and as an ensemble, members of The Gibson Brothers received eight nominations, including Vocal Group, Album of the Year ("They Called It Music"), Song of the Year ("They Called It Music") and Gospel Recorded Event. Eric Gibson received two nominations, as songwriter for Song of the Year "They Called It Music" (along with co-writer Joe Newberry) and in the Bluegrass Songwriter category. Band member Jesse Brock also earned a nomination for Mandolin Player of the Year.

Balsam Range captured seven nominations, including Vocal Group, two Song of the Year nods – "Any Old Road (Will Take You There)" and "Papertown" – Album of the Year ("Papertown"), Gospel Recorded Event and Recorded Event (band member Buddy Melton for "What’ll I Do" with Terry Baucom).

Both the Gibson Brothers and Balsam Range figured in the nominations for the top prize – Entertainer of the Year, along with Blue Highway, Dailey & Vincent, and the Del McCoury Band.

There were some interesting names listed among the nominees in 2013. "Gentle On My Mind," the John Hartford-written classic, is nominated for Song of the Year due to its’ exposure as part of the band’s Cracker Barrel-exclusive disc, Timeless Hits From The Past Bluegrassed, which was released in January. 

Marty Raybon, former lead singer of the group Shenandoah, was included in the Male Vocalist of the Year category. The Alabama native also was included in the Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year category for "Beulah Land."

The IBMA also announced the winners of their 2013 Distinguished Achievement Awards, which included industry professional Keith Case, Bluegrass library cataloger and historian Charley Pennell, as well as The McLain Family Band,  the East Mountain Boys, and banjo legend Vic Jordan. Entering the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame are influential guitarist / performer Tony Rice, and fiddling great Paul Warren, whose talents marked many a Flatt & Scruggs record over the years. Warren passed away in 1978. 

More details and list of nominees at