Twenty One Pilots Announce New Album 'Scaled and Icy' & a Livestream Concert

Twenty One Pilots
Ashley Osborn

Twenty One Pilots

Twenty One Pilots are bursting out of lockdown with a new album titled Scaled and Icy, which is due out on Fueled By Ramen on May 21. The 11-track effort was previewed on Wednesday (April 7) with the poppy single "Shy Away," along with a colorful, hyperactive performance video directed by Miles & AJ.

The Columbus, Ohio, duo's first new album in three years is the follow-up to their 2018 platinum-certified Trench, and it will be accompanied by their first-ever global streaming event, "Twenty One Pilots - Livestream Experience." According to a release, the catalog-spanning concert, which will screen on the album's release day at 8 p.m. ET, will feature the live debut of tracks from Scaled and Icy.

The band has also launched an immersive pre-show virtual experience for their Skelton Clique, where they can hang out as they await the live show here, and where fans can also buy tickets for the livestream.

Scaled and Icy was written and largely produced by singer/guitarist/ukulele player Tyler Joseph in isolation at his home due to the pandemic over the past year, with drummer Josh Dun engineering the drum tracks from across the country. "Scaled and Icy is the product of long-distance virtual sessions and finds the duo processing their upended routines along with the prevailing emotions of 2020 - anxiety, loneliness, boredom, and doubt," according to a release announcing the project.

"The duo had to forgo their normal studio sessions, but reached a new of level of introspection in the process, adopting a more imaginative and bold approach to their songwriting," the release continued. "The result is a collection of songs that push forward through setbacks and focus on the possibilities worth remembering."

The album follows on the heels of last year's surprise, stand-alone pandemic singles "Level of Concern" and "Christmas Saves the Year."

Check out the track listing and "Shy Away" video below.

    1. "Good Day"
    2. "Choker"
    3. "Shy Away"
    4. "The Outside"
    5. "Saturday"
    6. "Never Take It"
    7. "Mulberry Street"
    8. "Formidable"
    9. "Bounce Man"
    10. "No Chances"
    11. "Redecorate"

Billboard Explains: Why Taylor Swift is Re-Recording Her Old Albums