Crowded House Drop New Single, Set First Album In a Decade

Crowded House

Crowded House is opening its doors once more.

Neil Finn’s beloved folk-rock band are prepping their first new album release in more than a decade, Dreamers Are Waiting.

Due out June 4, the new LP features the lead track “Whatever You Want,” the music video for which stars Mac DeMarco, and the new release “To The Island.”

Finn and Mark Simon Brown co-directed the official clip for “To The Island,” shot at various locations including New Zealand, California and Ireland.

The album began life before COVID spread the globe.  “We were fortunate to be recording in the studio right before lockdown and so began this album with band tracks recorded live in a room, all brimming with character and energy,” explains Finn.

“We then spent our strangest year, 2020, at distance from each other but connecting daily, swapping files and making those tracks complete.”

Crowded House will support the new release with a 12-date national run of New Zealand, with a touring party of founding members Finn and Nick Seymour, along with producer and keyboardist Mitchell Froom, guitarist and singer Liam Finn and his younger brother, drummer Elroy Finn.

Produced by Live Nation, the To The Island tour kicks off March 4 at Hamilton’s Claudelands Arena and wraps March 21 at Auckland’s Spark Arena and is set to be one of the first truly national tours post-pandemic.

Crowded House were inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame in 2016, in recognition of a stellar career during which they’ve sold more than 10 million albums and collected 13 ARIA Awards.

Dreamers Are Waiting is the followup to 2010’s Intriguer, one of the band’s five titles to top the ARIA Albums Chart. One of those albums, 1996’s Recurring Dream: The Very Best of Crowded House, ruled the Australian chart for eight weeks, amassed 13-times platinum sales, and is the title holder for the highest-selling homegrown album of all time by a group.

Recurring Dream also topped the Official U.K. Albums Chart and is one of four Crowded House album to crack the top 10 in that territory.

"To The Island” Tracklisting:

1. Bad Times Good

2. Playing With Fire

3. To The Island

4. Sweet Tooth

5. Whatever You Want

6. Show Me The Way

7. Goodnight Everyone

8. Start Of Something

9. Too Good For This World

10. Real Life Woman

11. Love Isn’t Hard At All