Foo Fighters Debut New Song 'Shame Shame' on 'Saturday Night Live,' Announce Upcoming Album

Foo Fighters
Will Heath/NBC

Foo Fighters perform on 'Saturday Night Live' on Nov. 7, 2020.

The Foo Fighters debuted new song "Shame Shame" during their performance as Saturday Night Live's musical guest on Nov. 7 the post-election episode hosted by comedian Dave Chappelle.

The song, which also dropped on streaming services Saturday night, features a groovy, sexy beat. After the tune made its debut on the stage of NBC's Studio 8H, the band announced that "Shame Shame" is part of upcoming 10th studio album Medicine at Midnight, which is due Feb. 5, 2021 and available for pre-orders now.

The Foo Fighters had teased fans about new music on social media with not-so-cryptic posts beginning Nov. 4. Brief music clips were shared with the black-and-white image of  a single eye, with each image featuring eyes with irises of different colors. Each post was simply captioned with the hashtag "#LPX," which fans quickly deduced to mean the 10th Foo Fighters release.

For their second SNL song,  the Foo Fighters delivered what started out as a very subdued "Times Like These" from 2002's One by One. It featured frontman Dave Grohl softly singing the lyrics with only an organ accompanying his vocals, the stage darkened. "It's times like these you learn to live again/ It's times like these you give and give again/ It's times like these you learn to love again," Grohl crooned. It wasn't until the three-minute mark when the rest of the band kicked in with pounding drums and raging guitars. The song and its lyrics was a timely choice, with Joe Biden announced the president elect earlier in the day.

Watch the Foo Fighters' Saturday Night Live performance and check out the tracklist for Medicine at Midnight below:

Medicine at Midnight tracklist:

  1. Making a Fire
  2. Shame Shame
  3. Cloudspotter
  4. Waiting on a War
  5. Medicine at Midnight
  6. No Son of Mine
  7. Holding Poison
  8. Chasing Birds
  9. Love Dies Young

This Week's (11/07/20) 5 Must-Hear Debuts on the Hot 100