All-Star 'A Change Is Gonna Come 2020' Playlist Encourages Voter Registration

Beto O'Rourke
Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images

Beto O'Rourke addresses a campaign rally at the Pan American Neighborhood Park Nov. 4, 2018 in Austin, Texas.

A Spotify playlist titled "A Change is Gonna Come 2020" includes selections from former Democratic presidential candidate Beto O'Rourke as well as members of the Polyphonic Spree, Slowdive and the Psychedelic Furs in an effort to encourage voter registration.

The 40-track playlist features songs meant to capture the current moment and spur listeners to the polls on Nov. 3 and to activism in their communities.

In addition to former punk bassist and Texas Rep. O’Rourke, the list is made up of songs chosen by Polyphonic Spree leader Tim DeLaughter, Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), David Mandel (Seinfeld, Veep), Mars Williams (Psychedelic Furs), all the members of Midlake, Sarah Jaffe and many more.

Inspired by Sam Cooke's iconic 1964 soul anthem of the same name it is intended to encourage voter registration with just 39 days until the election.

Organized by activist Texas promoter Buffalo Tree Presents -- which will be registering voters in person at record stores across the state this Saturday (Sept. 26) on Record Store Day -- the mixtape is meant to serve as "a rallying cry to remind all eligible citizens to register, vote, and get involved," according to a release. "Whether you’re writing postcards, phone banking, text banking, or just need to find some inspiration to get through until tomorrow, A Change Is Gonna Come 2020 is your soundtrack to activism heading into November 3rd."

"Change only comes when we come together to participate in democracy and nothing brings people together like music,” said Buffalo Tree Presents founder Dylan Silvers in a statement. “And while live music isn’t feasible at this time, music is still at the heart of our efforts. The point of this mixtape is to tap into that sense of community and to rally folks to the polls. In 2020 we need everyone to VOTE. The world depends on it.”

Among the songs on the list are tracks by Public Enemy, Kesha, The Clash, Miles Davis, Aretha Franklin, Minnie Ripperton, Lou Reed, Elvis Costello & the Attractions, The Beach Boys, Bruce Springsteen and Chicago Batman.

Listen to the "Change is Gonna Come 2020" playlist below.

2020 Billboard Music Awards: A Full List of Nominations | Billboard News