Coronavirus

Bruce Springsteen Remembers Little Richard as 'the Purest Rock & Roll Voice of All Time'

Bruce Springsteen
Danny Clinch

Bruce Springsteen

Bruce Springsteen took over his SiriusXM channel, E Street Radio, on Wednesday (May 20) to pay tribute to Little Richard during his latest guest DJ session.

"And that is the purest rock 'n' roll voice of all time," Springsteen said of the late star, who died May 9 at the age of 87. "He was one of the founding fathers of rock 'n' roll, and its preeminent vocal genius."

The rock star added: "His art was filled with absurdity, dead seriousness, great humor and sex, sex, sex. He is one of a handful of men who changed the face of world culture. He crossed racial boundaries, he challenged gender norms and he had the time of his life ... Rest in peace, Richard."

During the set, the iconic singer-songwriter also played his favorite tracks by the likes of Glen Campbell, Tom Petty, Dion, Mozart and more. Fans and SiriusXM subscribers can tune into all four editions of Springsteen's guest DJ segment, Bruce Springsteen -- From His Home, To Yours..., from now to Monday (May 25) as part of E Street Radio's Memorial Day celebration.

The broadcast kicks off Wednesday at 5 p.m. ET on SiriusXM channel 20, and runs at varying times throughout the weekend. Check out Springsteen's reminiscence of Little Richard, as well as the complete schedule, below.

Full broadcast schedule of Bruce Springsteen -- From His Home, To Yours...:
Wednesday, May 20 at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT
Thursday, May 21 at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT and 3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT
Friday, May 22 at 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT and 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT
Saturday, May 23 at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT (previous day), 8 a.m ET/5 a.m. PT. and 5 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. PT
Sunday, May 24 at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m PT and 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT

Memorial Day broadcast schedule:
Monday, May 25 at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT (Volume 1)
Monday, May 25 at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT (Volume 2)
Monday, May 25 at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT (Volume 3)
Monday, May 25 at 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT (Volume 4)

THE BILLBOARD BIZ
SUBSCRIBER EXPERIENCE

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.


To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.