Whiskey in the Jar! Metallica Launches Batch 100 Limited-Edition Box Set With the Music It Aged To

Ross Halfin


Some music ages like fine wine, but some fine whiskeys age to Metallica. The heavy metal band launched its Batch 100 limited-edition box set of Blackened American Whiskey today (May 18). The set pairs with two 12" vinyl picture discs of Metallica's playlist used in the distilling process.

The "Black Noise" custom sonic-enhancement process plays a unique mix of Metallica's rare, live and studio recordings from its wide-spanning career, which was curated by master distiller/blender Rob Dietrich, at such a low frequency that it assists in the actual making of the liquor. The low vibrations "pummel the black brandy casks during the finishing process, agitating the whiskey and extracting more flavor from the wood," according to a press release.

Dietrich, who's the first person outside of the band to blend the official playlist for one of its 19 batches of Blackened American Whiskey, adds a special personal touch by including the live version of "One," which he played during his deployment in Somalia.

"I am honored to have the opportunity to be able to create a whiskey and pour so much of myself personally into the process," Dietrich said in the release. "Music and distilling are two things I have dedicated my life to, and I do not take for granted how rare it is to be able to blend, literally, these worlds."

And Metallica frontman Lars Ulrich approved of his picks. "When I look at Rob’s playlist, I love the selections. I love the variety and I love that he’s gone for two deeper live tracks from the Damaged Justice tour," he said in a statement. "I love seeing both the Binge & Purge and Through the Never eras represented. And he even tapped the Helping Hands album, so it’s clear he is not a part-timer!"

The Batch 100 limited-edition box set not only comes with the booze and accompanying beats but also with a first-edition Blackened Zine, which features Dietrich and Ulrich's commentary on the whiskey blending process, iconic images of the heavy metal heavyweights, and behind-the-scenes footage of Metallica's headquarters and rehearsal space.

Fans can purchase the Batch 100 limited-edition box set for $149 (although prices may vary by state) here and catch Ulrich's unboxing video, as well as the tracklist for the two vinyl discs, below.

Batch 100 Box Set Vinyl Tracklist:

Disc 1
Side A
1. "Blackened (Live)"
2. "Creeping Death (Live)"
3. "The Unforgiven (Live)"
Side B
1. "Disposable Heroes"
2. "Fade to Black"
3. "Spit Out the Bone"

Disc 2
Side C
1. "Whiplash"
2. "…And Justice for All"
3. "Nothing Else Matters (Live Acoustic)"
Side D
1. "Leper Messiah"
2. "One (Live)"
3. "Battery"