Jeff Lynne's ELO Launching 'From Out of Nowhere' Album, Listen to the Title Track

Jeff Lynne
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Jeff Lynne performs onstage at the 36th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards at The Beverly Hilton Hotel on May 16, 2019 in Beverly Hills, Calif.

Orchestral rock maestro Jeff Lynne has announced the follow-up to his 2015' Alone in the Universe album and in keeping with his Jeff Lynne's ELO branding, there is, of course, a spacecraft involved. The beloved 71 year-old singer/composer/producer is prepping a Nov. 1 release of From Out of Nowhere on Columbia Records, with the album's title track available now.   

The first taste of the 10-track album has the expected wistful, Beatle-esque swoon of ELO's finest work, with Lynne singing, "Let me go, let me fly/ To a place where I love/ Let me fly away and start again." Pre-order the album here. ELO recently wrapped a 20-date North American tour, the first such outing since the group last toured the U.S. in 1981.

According to a release announcing the album, Lynne played nearly note on the album (guitars, bass, piano, drums, keyboards, vibes) as well as singing all the lead and harmony vocals, with some added percussion from engineer Steve Jay.

"From Out of Nowhere — that’s exactly where it came from,” Lynne says in the release. “That’s the first one I wrote for this album and it’s kind of like that.” The Rock and Roll Hall of Famer says the title track is a song about hope and salvation, with Lynne often finding himself turning to a sense of optimism, a recurring theme on the album. "Everybody’s got to have a bit of hope," he says.

Listen to the title track and see the track listing below.

From Out of Nowhere track list:

"From Out of Nowhere"

"Help Yourself"

"All My Love"

"Down Came The Rain"

"Losing You"

"One More Time"

"Sci-Fi Woman"

"Goin' Out On Me"

"Time of Our Life"



The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.