Sleater-Kinney Announce Title of St. Vincent-Produced Album, Drop 'The Future is Here' Single: Listen

Charlie Engman

"The Center Won't Hold" is out on Aug. 16.

Sleater-Kinney announced the title of their St. Vincent-produced 11-track album on Friday (June 14): The Center Won't Hold. The ninth effort from the reunited punk trio is due out on Aug. 16 from Mom + Pop, with a lyric video for the second song released so far, "The Future is Here," out now.

“We’re always mixing the personal and the political but on this record, despite obviously thinking so much about politics, we were really thinking about the person -- ourselves or versions of ourselves or iterations of depression or loneliness -- in the middle of the chaos," said singer/guitarist Carrie Brownstein in a statement.  Drummer Janet Weiss added, “I think for Carrie and Corin it was liberating to explore a different sound palette. Annie (St. Vincent) has a lot of experience building her own music with keyboards and synthesizers so she could be our guide to help us make sense of this new landscape and still sound like us.”

Center is the band's first release since 2015's No Cities to Love and guitarist/singer Corin Tucker said it, "drops you into the world of catastrophe that touches on the election. And almost like a mission statement, at the end of that song, it’s like the band is finding its way out of that space by becoming a rock band.”

The slow-boiling "Future" starts out with an intense low-end hum and intense lyrics about isolation in a crowd. "I start my day on a tiny screen/ Try to connect the words, they're right in front of me/ I walk to work out on the city streets/ No one speaks to me, their stony faces beat," lamenting that the future is here, but despite all our technology we simply cannot connect.

Tickets for the band's tour go on sale today to the general public, with the outing kicking off on Oct. 9 in Spokane, Washington. The band previously released the rager "Hurry On Home."

Watch "The Future is Here" lyric video and see the track listing below.

The Center Won't Hold track list:

"The Center Won't Hold"

"Hurry On Home"

"Reach Out"

"Can I Go On"




"Bad Dance"

"The Future Is Here"

"The Dog/ The Body"