Morrissey Details 'California Son' Track List With Members Of Green Day, Grizzly Bear, Young The Giant

Monika Stolarska


Morrissey announced the track list for his new covers album, California Son, on Tuesday (Feb. 26).

The Britpop icon’s LP will drop on May 24 via BMG, and will feature 12 tracks that span some of the greatest tunes of the '60s and '70s. Among them are songs by classic acts Joni Mitchell, Dionne Warwick and Bob Dylan. Petra Haden, LP, Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear, Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene, Sameer Gadhia of Young The Giant, Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day and Lydia Night of The Regrettes also feature.

In a statement, singer-songwriter LP (born Laura Pergolizzi) said she has “great respect and appreciation” for Morrissey. “However, I soon realized when I hung out with him and he played me all the songs he was putting on this record that behind this was the heart of an audiophile and a deep fan of his own musical heroes,” she stated. “He is well versed in so many genres and knows deep cuts of artists I thought I knew so much about. It is inspiring to see the enthusiasm and intellect he brings to people through his own musical journey."

Morrissey's cover of “It’s Over” by the late Roy Orbison was also released today. Roy Orbison, Jr. said in a statement that the he reminded him of his own father. “We love Morrissey! Morrissey's hair, and melancholy and poetic lyrics always reminded me of my dad. His version of ‘It’s Over’ is great," Orbison, Jr. said.

Listen to "It's Over" below, and check out the full track listing for Morrissey’s upcoming California Son after the jump.


“Morning Starship (Jobriath)” with Ed Droste of Grizzly Bear

“Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell)” with Ariel Engle of Broken Social Scene

“Only a Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan)” with Petra Haden

“Suffer the Little Children (Buffy St Marie)”

“Days of Decision (Phil Ochs)” with Sameer Gadhia of Young The Giant

“It’s Over (Roy Orbison)” with LP

“Wedding Bell Blues (The Fifth Dimension)” with Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day & Lydia Night of The Regrettes

“Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)”

“Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett)”

“When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon)” with Petra Haden

“Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)”

“Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)”