Cage the Elephant Detail New Album 'Social Cues,' Share 'Ready To Let Go' Video: Watch

Neil Krug
Cage the Elephant

The new LP features a collaboration with Beck.

After teasing new music back in November, Kentucky rockers Cage the Elephant have gone on the record about their fifth studio LP. It’s called Social Cues and it’s due April 19 on RCA. 

The six-piece also unveiled its lead single today (Jan. 31). “Ready To Let Go” arrives along with a music video directed by lead vocalist Matt Shultz. 

In a release, the band describes Social Cues as being largely inspired by the "unravelling" of a relationship Shultz had. The album was produced by John Hill, mixed by Tom Elmhirst, and mastered by Randy Merrill. 

Cage the Elephant’s last studio LP, 2015’s Tell Me I’m Pretty, captured best rock album at the 2016 Grammys, marking their first win. They’ve also been titans at alternative radio for some time; since their self-titled 2008 debut, Cage the Elephant has produced seven No. 1s on Billboard’s Alternative Songs chart. 

The band will co-headline Atlanta’s Shaky Knees festival in early May, and plan to release more 2019 tour dates soon.

Take a look at the ominous video below, and see the album artwork and track list for Social Cues -- which features a Beck collaboration called “Night Running” -- after the jump.


1. Broken Boy
2. Social Cues
3. Black Madonna
4. Night Running (Cage The Elephant, Beck)
5. Skin and Bones
6. Ready To Let Go
7. House of Glass
8. Love’s the Only Way
9. The War Is Over
10. Dance Dance
11. What I’m Becoming
12. Tokyo Smoke
13. Goodbye