TONKS Gets Buried in Loss in New 'Giles Corey' Video: Premiere

David Garren


TONKS premiered the music video for "Giles Corey" on Thursday (Nov.8), a melancholy track from his debut album Windows Down & Dying, due out on Nov. 16. 

Dryjacket bassist Ian Foley's first solo project is introspective, complete with soothing melodies and intricate instrumentals. The multi-instrumentalist will not only showcase his vocals, but will also play the piano, violin and guitar on the new album. "Giles Corey" is the first track released from TONKS, which sees the singer poignantly confronting loss. 

"'Giles Corey’ is a song about the unavoidable continuation of life after coping with loss," TONKS tells Billboard in an emailed statement. "I’m really proud of this video, and the amazing performances by the cast."

The video shifts through gloomy scenes of people buried waist-deep into the ground, including Foley. He slowly plays the guitar on an empty beach, further instilling the theme of loss by singing, "I've given you everything but my name/ Where did I go wrong."

TONKS will also hold three small release shows in celebration of his album release. The New Jersey native will play a hometown show on release night (Nov.16) in Flemington, NJ at Flemington DIY, heading to West Hempstead, NY on Nov. 17 for a show at Creative Corner and then to Philadelphia on Nov. 18 at The Pharmacy.

In the meantime, check out the "Giles Corey" video below, as well as the full track list for Windows Down & Dying after the jump.

Windows Down & Dying Track Listing

1. The Great Idaho Fire 
2. Water Damage 
3. Running Downhill
4. You Aren't Missing Anything
5. Pictures of Privilege
6. Through the Daylight, the Moon Appears
7. Garden State Blue
8. St. Charles Place
9. Paris
10. Giles Corey


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.