Greta Van Fleet Set Release Date for Debut Album, 'Anthem of the Peaceful Army'

Greta Van Fleet
Michael Lavine

Greta Van Fleet

Look for it on Oct. 19.

After breakthrough success with its pair of 2017 EPs and No. 1 Rock hits such as "Highway Tune" and "Safari Song," Greta Van Fleet has announced an Oct. 19 release date for its debut full-length album, Anthem of a Peaceful Army.

The Michigan quartet recorded the 10-song set, produced by the Rust Brothers (Marlon Young, Al Sutton and Herschel Boone) at Blackbird Studios in Nashville and Rustbelt Studios in suburban Detroit. The group has already released a first single and video, the rampaging "When the Curtain Falls," and those pre-ordering Anthem... from GVF's web site will receive the instant grat track, "Watching Over You."

Guitarist Jake Kiszka told Billboard earlier this year that, "I think there's some maturity on the album that you can hear, musically. We were able to take our time and try new arrangements and new writing techniques. I think we've become a lot more savvy in the studio as well, so a lot of that will translate to the album. It's very energetic and aggressive." The announcement for Anthem... promises that "the ten original songs explore a variety of topics that include fresh starts, love, integrity, innocence, adventure, diversity and peace, the life cycle and its inherent responsibilities, courage, masked deceptions, revolution, and truth" as well as "a menagerie of musical elements throughout."   

Anthem... certainly comes with high expectations generated by the band's enormous radio and touring success, as well as high profile praise from Elton John, who jammed with the band for his Academy Awards benefit party this year, and Robert Plant of Led Zeppelin, who Greta frontman Josh Kiszka is often compared to. But guitarist Kiszka says a busy schedule has kept the pressure at bay, and that the group -- which also includes a third brother, Sam Kiszka, on bass and keyboards and Danny Wagner on drums -- is "more excited than nervous" about the album.

"There's definitely a lot of stuff we want to do," the guitarist says. "We want to make a lot of records and put out a lot of music, and that keeps us focused and kind of grounded. Maybe there's some minor pressure, 'cause pressure's always good, and always there. But moreso there's excitement about what we're gonna do next, and after that, and after that."

Greta Van Fleet is currently on tour in North America into late October, with a European tour kicking off Oct. 30 in Germany.

The full Anthem... track list includes:

1. "Age of Man"

2. "The Cold Wind"

3. "When The Curtain Falls"

4. "Watching Over"

5. "Lover Leaver (Taker Believer)"

6. "You’re The One"

7. "The New Day"

8. "Mountain of the Sun"

9. "Brave New World"

10. "Anthem"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.