Steve Perry Hits the Studio for 'No More Cryin'' Video: Watch

Steve Perry "No More Cryin"
Courtesy Photo

Steve Perry "No More Cryin"

It's been almost 25 years since fans have seen a Steve Perry solo video. But the near-quarter century drought ended on Wednesday morning (Sept. 5) when the former Journey singer unleashed the live performance clip for the soulful track "No More Cryin'," which will be featured on Perry's first solo album in 24 years, Traces (Oct. 5). In the visual for the song Perry co-wrote with Dan Wilson (Semisonic, Adele), the singer pours all his heart and soul into the lyrics of the track that he describes as a left-of-center love song.

“'No More Cryin’' is a love song, but not in the way you would think. It starts in one place, and builds and lands somewhere entirely different," Perry said in a statement announcing the video. "It's got many overtones, and can be applied to so many different kinds of relationships, including my own relationship with past isolation.” The Jeff Coffman-directed video includes a band featuring the album's producer guitarist Thom Flowers, as well as guitarist Casey Hooper, keyboardist Dallas Kruse, bassist Travis Carlton and drummer Julian Rodriguez.

"Well she told me that she loved me/ That was not so long ago/ Love's forsaken and forgotten/ On this lost and lonely road," Perry sings in his signature raspy style on the track, before dipping into the chorus, "No more cryin'/ 'Cause I won't love again/ I won't, no I won't/ No more cryin'/ 'Cause I won't love again/ I won't, I won't, I won't." 

Perry has been an elusive figure since the ‘90s following his last album with Journey, 1996’s Trial by Fire, and 1998's “I Stand Alone,” a solo song from the soundtrack to the animated film Quest for Camelot. Perry attended Journey’s 2017 induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, but did not perform with the band. He began work on Traces in May 2015 and released the first single, "No Erasin'," two weeks ago.

Check out the video below.

Traces track list:

1) "No Erasin'"

2) "We're Still Here"

3) "Most of All"

4) "No More Cryin'"

5) "In the Rain"

6) "Sun Shines Gray"

7) "You Belong to Me"

8) "Easy to Love"

9) "I Need You"

10) "We Fly"


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.