Muscle Shoals Sound Tribute Album to Feature Steven Tyler, Willie Nelson, Grace Potter & More: Exclusive

Steven Tyler
Jeff Kravitz/FilmMagic

Steven Tyler performs onstage during the 2018 MTV Video Music Awards at Radio City Music Hall on Aug. 20, 2018 in New York City.

Muscle Shoals… Small Town, Big Sound, a compilation album in tribute to Alabama’s Muscle Shoals sound, will be released Sept. 28 on BMG, Billboard exclusively announces Thursday (Aug. 30).

Following FAME studio owner Rick Hall's? passing in January 2018, his son Rodney and partner Keith Stegall recruited artists such as Steven Tyler, Willie Nelson, Grace Potter, Chris Stapleton, Kid Rock and more to contribute to the album. Each artist re-recorded a song that came out of FAME Studios, reviving gems such as “Mustang Sally” and “I Ain’t Easy To Love.”

"Returning to Muscle Shoals to record a track at Fame Studios was like being given the chance to return to my youth for a day,” Michael McDonald, who recorded Etta James’ “Cry Like A Rainy Day” for the album, tells Billboard. “So much of the music that shaped my consciousness was recorded right here, on this spot, in this building and with, for the most part, these very musicians. It will always rank among my most cherished memories.”

“The sound is one-of-a-kind,” Rick’s son Rodney Hall also explains in a statement. “When younger artists hear all of the music that came out of here over the past five decades, they want to check it out. This album is special because it brings together artists that have been inspired by the magic of the Muscle Shoals Sound."

A portion of proceeds from sales of Muscle Shoals… Small Town, Big Sound will benefit the Grammy Foundation and the Muscle Shoals Music Foundation.

“Brown Sugar” by Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt will be available for instant download upon pre-ordering the album, starting Aug. 31.

View the album’s trailer below, and check out the artwork and full tracklisting after the jump.

Courtesy Photo


1.  The Road Of Love - Keb’ Mo’

2.  I’d Rather Go Blind - Grace Potter

3.  Brown Sugar - Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt

4.  Gotta Serve Somebody - Jamey Johnson, Willie Nelson, Chris Stapleton & Lee Ann Womack

5.  Steal Away - Eli “Paperboy” Reed

6.  Snatching It Back - Kid Rock

7.  I’ll Take You There - Aloe Blacc

8.  Cry Like A Rainy Day - Michael McDonald

9.  True Love - Vince Gill & Wendy Moten

10. Come And Go Blues - Alison Krauss

11.  Respect Yourself - Mike Farris with The Blind Boys of Alabama

12.  Wild Horses - Alan Jackson

13.  Mustang Sally - Brently Stephen Smith of Shinedown

14.  We’ve Got Tonight - Chord Overstreet

15.  Giving It Up For Your Love - Tom Johnston & Delbert McClinton

16.  I Ain’t Easy To Love - Candi Staton with Jason Isbell & John Paul White