Mitski Announces New LP 'Be The Cowboy' With 'Geyser' Music Video

Bao Ngo


Today (May 14), Mitski announced her fifth studio album, Be the Cowboy. Although the album is set to be released on August 17 via Dead Oceans, the video for the leading single “Geyser” dropped this morning. 

Directed by Zia Anger -- who recently collaborated with dream-pop outfit Beach House on their “Dark Spring” video, as well as with Mitski on 2016's “Your Best American Girl” clip -- the video shows a dark and ethereal scene. It begins with a red screen that fades into the singer standing on a deserted beach, with the lines “You’re my number one/ you’re the one I want” echoing behind her.

The track brings the same slow-burn that fans fell in love with on the critically acclaimed Puberty 2 -- which peaked at No. 32 on Billboard’s Top Rock Albums chart and No. 19 on Alternative Albums.

A press release for the 14-track album, produced by her longtime collaborator Patrick Hyland, promises a “primordial” look into “a very controlled icy repressed woman who is starting to unravel.”

The indie-rock darling is fresh off a national tour with Lorde and Run The Jewels, where she played venues as large as TD Garden and Barclays Center. She is currently preparing to take on a solo tour in June, followed by a full-band European tour in the fall.

The album is available for pre-order here. View the album artwork and full track list below.

Be The Cowboy:

1. Geyser
2. Why Didn’t You Stop Me
3. Old Friend
4. A Pearl
5. Lonesome Love
6. Remember My Name
7. Me And My Husband
8. Come Into the Water
9. Nobody
10. Pink in the Night
11. A Horse Named Cold Air
12. Washing Machine Heart
13. Blue Light
14. Two Slow Dancers