Guided By Voices Blast Off Thanks to Youngest Fan in 'See My Field' Video: Premiere

Guided By Voices "See My Field"
Courtesy Photo

Guided By Voices, "See My Field"

Guided by Voices have a well-deserved reputation for dealing in volume: Over the past two decades the Robert Pollard-led garage rock group has unleashed a massive trove that includes more than 100 albums containing in excess of 2,000 songs. But in 2018 they will release just a single 15-track effort: Space Gun.

The album was recorded by the long-running group's acclaimed recent lineup, which includes veteran members guitarist Doug Gillard and drummer Kevin March, as well as newbies bassist Mark Shue and singer/songwriter guitarist Bobby Bare Jr. And they're so psyched about how in the pocket they are that a single album in 2018 will do.

Today (Jan. 18) Billboard is premiering the video for the album's second single, "See My Field," directed by GBV fan Hunter Christy -- who shot the band at the Ottobar in Baltimore last year -- and also starring Christy's fellow Virginian, nine-year-old budding spaceman Ezekiel McCloud.

The video for the classic GBV rave-up features live shots of a performance intercut with scenes of grade school superfan Christy rocking his bedroom with a plastic mic while mimicking Pollard's signature oddball stage moves for an audience of rapt action figures. Spoiler alert: contains high kicks, old cassette players, mic twirling, adorable astronaut suits and a trip to space.

Click here to order a copy of the single, which is due out on Feb. 9 in a limited, 500-copy run on transparent green vinyl; Space Gun will drop on March 23. The single features two non-LP b-sides, sung & written by March (“Leave Tomorrow”) and Shue ("Disconnected Eyes”). 

Watch the premiere of the video below:

Guided By Voices Tour Dates:

Apr. 13 -- Ann Arbor, MI @ Blind Pig 

Apr. 14 -- Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI Indy 

Apr. 17 -- Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer

Apr. 18 -- Jersey City, NJ @ White Eagle Hall

Apr. 20 -- Ithaca, NY @ The Haunt

Apr. 21 -- Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop

Space Gun track list:

1. Space Gun

2. Colonel Paper

3. King Flute

4. Ark Technican

5. See My Field

6. Liar’s Box

7. Blink Bank

8. Daily Get Ups

9. Hudson Rake

10. Sport Component National

11. I Love Kangaroos

12. Grey Spat Matters

13. That’s Good

14. Flight Advantage

15. Evolution Circus