Dashboard Confessional Announce Comeback Album 'Crooked Shadows," Share New Song 'We Fight'

Dashboard Confessional
David Bean

Dashboard Confessional

It’s been nearly a decade since Dashboard Confessional has released new music, with the exception of covers EP Covered and Taped released earlier this year, featuring songs originally performed by emo newcomers Julien Baker and Sorority Noise.

But the wait is ending soon, as the group has announced that their long-awaited new album, Crooked Shadows, comes out on February 9 on Fueled By Ramen. Today (Nov. 15), they shared the lead single “We Fight,” an uplifting, powerful track that focuses on a positive outlook of fighting through struggles.

In an interview with Beats 1, frontman Chris Carrabba explained the story behind the song. “It’s a weird thing when you write a song; you think you know what it’s about, but you don’t [really] until some months later sometimes. So, I thought for sure it was just about how I found a place in the world, which was worth fighting for, which was the music scene that I come from. I wasn’t cool in school. I didn’t fit in. I found this music scene and it fostered this community and it fostered the people in it. You could be black or white, you could be straight or gay, you could be a man or a woman,”  he says. 

He then added, “Everybody was equal and we were equally protected but we were equally encouraged to do something that challenged the status quo. But then the political climate has changed in such a way that, almost days after writing that song, America started to feel really regressive somehow. And all these great strides we made during the last administration had been threatened to be undone, and I realized that people have beliefs worth protecting, worth standing up for and I found a residence in that.”  

Listen to "We Fight" here, and see the set's track list (as well as Dashboard's upcoming tour dates) below.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Crooked Shadows Tracklist

1. We Fight

2. Catch You

3. About Us

4. Heart Beat Here

5. Belong

6. Crooked Shadows

7. Open My Eyes

8. Be Alright

9. Just What To Say

Dashboard Confessional Tour Dates

Nov 16 - Chicago, IL - H.O.M.E. Bar (WKQX No Dough Show)

Dec 01 - Milwaukee, WI - Eagles Ballroom (FM 102/1 Big Snow Show)

Dec 02 - Broomfield, CO - 1stBANK Center (93.3's Not So Silent Night)

Dec 04 - Salt Lake City, UT - The Complex (X96 Toyota Nightmare Before Xmas)

Dec 06 - Tulsa, OK - Brady Theater (The Edge Christmas Concert)

Dec 07 - Saint Louis, MO - Delmar Hall (105.7 The Point HoHo Show)

Jan 27 - Philadelphia, PA - XFINITY Live! (104.5 Winter Jawn)

Jan 28 - Wilkes-Barre, PA - F.M. Kirby Center (Alt 92.1 Snow Show)