U2 Reveal Details Of New Album 'Songs Of Experience' and Announce 2018 North American Tour

Anton Corbijn


U2 will release its 14th studio album on Dec. 1 (Interscope Records in the U.S. and via Universal Canada), titled Songs of Experience. On Wednesday (Nov. 1), the band announced more details surrounding the album, as well as plans to tour North America in 2018.

The Dublin icons released the album's artwork -- a young boy and girl stoically holding hands in black and white -- and the full track list.

Songs of Experience serves as a sequel to the band's 2014 album Songs of Innocence, and The Experience + Innocence Tour (stylized by U2 as eXPERIENCE + iNNOCENCE) also shares a name with its 2015 predecessor. The tour will start on May 2 in Tulsa, Okla. 

According to a press release, "The lyrical approach of the album was greatly inspired by Irish poet, novelist and Trinity College, Dublin Professor Emeritus Brendan Kennelly’s advice to Bono to 'write as if you’re dead,' resulting in a collection of songs in the form of intimate letters to places and people close to the singer’s heart -- family, friends, fans, himself."

With a pre-order of the album, listeners will receive previously unreleased "Get Out of Your Own Way," which features an appearance from Kendrick Lamar, "You're The Best Thing About Me" (released Sept. 6) and the album version of "The Blackout." Those who pre-order the album's deluxe version are eligible for Kygo's remix of "You're The Best Thing About Me."

"Get Out of Your Own Way" is out now.

Tickets will go on sale Monday, Nov. 20 at 10 a.m. exclusively through Ticketmaster Verified Fan "in keeping with their commitment to ensure tickets get into the hands of fans, not scalpers." fan club supporters, however, will receive first access to tickets (you can register here beginning today until Nov. 12) from Nov. 14 to Nov. 16. For more information, visit

Check out the full tracklist and all tour dates below.

Songs of Experience track list

1. "Love Is All We Have Left"
2. "Lights of Home'  
3. "You’re The Best Thing About Me"
4. "Get Out of Your Own Way" featuring Kendrick Lamar
5. "American Soul"
6. "Summer of Love"
7. "Red Flag Day"
8. "The Showman (Little More Better)"
9. "The Little Things That Give You Away"
10. "Landlady"
11. "The Blackout"
12. "Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way"
13. "13 (There is a Light)"

Experience + Innocence Tour dates

May 2 -- Tulsa, Okla. @ BOK Center
May 4 -- St. Louis @ Scottrade Center
May 7 -- San Jose, Calif. SAP @ Center
May 11 -- Las Vegas @ T-Mobile Arena
May 15 -- Los Angeles @ The Forum
May 22 -- Chicago @ United Center
May 26 -- Nashville, Tenn. @ Bridgestone Arena
May 28 -- Atlanta @ Infinite Energy Arena
June 5 -- Montreal @ Bell Centre
June 9 -- Uniondale, N.Y.  @ NYCB Live, Home of the Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum
June 13 -- Philadelphia @ Wells Fargo Center
June 17 -- Washington, D.C. @ Capital One Arena
June 21 -- Boston @ TD Garden
June 25 -- New York City @ Madison Square Garden
June 29 -- Newark, N.J. @ Prudential Center