Bob Seger Shares 'I Knew You When' Album Details

Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet
Ken Settle

Bob Seger & The Silver Bullet

Though he had to pull off the road due to a medical issue, Bob Seger is forging ahead with plans to release his new album, I Knew You When, on Nov. 17.

Seger has announced two versions of the album, his 18th set studio overall. The 10-track standard edition will include his recently released cover of Lou Reed's "Busload of Faith" as well as a version of Leonard Cohen's "Democracy." Listen to the cover of Reed's New York track below. 

The deluxe edition of the album features three additional tracks, including "Glenn Song," a tribute to his late friend Glenn Frey that Seger released via his website last January on the first anniversary of Frey's passing.

Of the album's songs, the announcement describes "The Highway," "Runaway Train" and "Blue Ridge" as "uptempo rockers" -- and the latter as "an ode to the history and beauty of the Appalachian Mountains" -- while "I'll Remember You" is a "passionate, guitar driven ballad." 

Pre-orders for I Knew You When have started at

Seger canceled the final 19 dates of his Runaway Train Tour with his Silver Bullet Band earlier this month because of "an urgent medical issue with his vertebrae." There are plans to reschedule the concerts but nothing has been announced yet. 

I Knew You When track list:

1.      Gracile (2:48)

2.      Busload of Faith (4:32)

3.      The Highway (3:38)

4.      I Knew You When (3:53)

5.      I’ll Remember You (3:48)

6.      The Sea Inside (4:14)

7.      Marie (3:26)

8.      Runaway Train (4:10)

9.      Something More (3:47)

10.  Democracy (6:32)

11.  Forward Into The Past (4:12) (Deluxe Album only)

12.  Blue Ridge (3:50) (Deluxe Album only)

13.  Glenn Song (2:49) (Deluxe Album only)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.