Little Richard's 'Ready Teddy': Listen to the Previously Unreleased First Take (Exclusive)

Little Richard
 Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Images

Little Richard performs circa 1956. 

In rock music these days, we talk a lot about 10-, 25-year anniversaries of albums – but how about celebrating the 60th anniversary of a stone-cold classic?

On Nov. 3, a two-disc set of Little Richard's debut album Here's Little Richard comes out via Craft Recordings, the catalog division of Concord Music, featuring a bounty of demos, alternate takes and unreleased material from the original 1956 sessions that produced the 1957 LP. Ahead of its release, Billboard is premiering the previously unreleased first take of a Little Richard classic, "Ready Teddy," below.

Along with Bo Diddley, Chuck Berry and Fats Domino, Little Richard was one of the central architects of rock n' roll; unlike his compatriots, he imbued the nascent genre with an unhinged energy and flamboyant style that paved the way for, well, everything fun and/or furious in rock music.

Pre-order here and check out the track list below.

Here’s Little Richard (60th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

Disc 1

1. Tutti Frutti
2. True, Fine Mama
3. Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave
4. Ready Teddy
5. Baby
6. Slippin’ and Slidin’
7. Long Tall Sally
8. Miss Ann
9. Oh Why?
10. Rip It Up
11. Jenny Jenny
12. She’s Got It

Disc 2

1. Tutti Frutti (take 2)
2. True Fine Mama (incomplete take)
3. Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave (take 6)*
4. Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave (take 8)
5. Ready Teddy (take 1)*
6. Ready Teddy (takes 2 & 3)*
7. Baby (demo)
8. Baby (take 1)
9. Slippin’ and Slidin’ (demo)*
10. Slippin’ and Slidin’ (piano & drums demo)
11. Long Tall Sally (take 1)
12. Long Tall Sally (take 6)
13. Miss Ann (demo)
14. Miss Ann (take 1)
15. Miss Ann (take 6)
16. Oh Why? (takes 3 & 4)*
17. Oh Why? (take 9)
18. Rip It Up (take 1)*
19. Rip It Up (take 3)
20. Rip It Up (take 4)*
21. Rip It Up (take 6)*
22. She’s Got It (alternate version)

*previously unreleased


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.