Rock Hall of Fame 2018 Nominees Revealed: Vote for Your Top 5 Now

The list of 19 finalists vying for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 was announced Thursday (Oct. 5) morning.

Leading the first-time nominees list are Rage Against the Machine, Eurythmics, Bon Jovi, Radiohead and Judas Priest, as well as Dire Straits, Kate Bush, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone and Sister Rosetta Tharpe. Others on the list: The Cars, Depeche Mode, J. Geils Band, LL Cool J, MC5, The Meters, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Link Wray and The Zombies. The Class of 2018 will be revealed in Dec. 2017.

To be eligible for nomination, a band or artist had to have released their first commercial recording at least 25 years prior to their year of induction; 2018 nominees had to release their first official recording no later than 1992. Ballots will be sent to an international voting body of more than 900 artists, historians and music industry members who will weigh factors including musical influence on other artists, and length and depth of career and body of work, including "innovation and superiority in style and technique." 

Music fans will once again be given the chance to participate in the induction selection process beginning today (and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on Dec. 5) by voting below, or going to to cast your vote for the act you believe is most deserving of induction. The top five artists, as selected by the public, will make up a "fans' ballot" that will be tallied along with the other ballots. The final list of nominees will be announced in December and the 33rd annual ceremony will take place at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, home of the RRHOF, on April 14, 2018, to be broadcast later on HBO.

New Jersey arena rock legends Bon Jovi, best known for hits such as "Livin' On a Prayer" and "You Give Love a Bad Name," became eligible for induction in 2008, while enigmatic British singer Kate Bush ("Running up That Hill") is a first time nominee. Other acts who are making their first bid include "Sultans of Swing" rockers Dire Straits (first eligible in 2003), quirky new wave duo Eurythmics ("Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)," first eligible in 2006), leather-clad British metal band Judas Priest ("You've Got Another Thing Coming," first eligible in 1999), long-running English prog rockers the Moody Blues ("Nights in White Satin," first eligible in 1989), 1930s gospel icon Sister Rosetta Tharpe ("Down by the Riverside," first eligible in 1986) and hugely influential civil rights activist and jazz/R&B singer Nina Simone ("Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out," first eligible in 1986). 

This year's inductees included: Pearl JamJourneyElectric Light OrchestraJoan BaezTupac ShakurYes and Chic frontman Nile Rodgers.

The full list of nominees for induction into the RRHOF in 2018: 

  • Bon Jovi
  • Kate Bush
  • The Cars
  • Depeche Mode
  • Dire Straits
  • Eurythmics
  • J. Geils Band
  • Judas Priest
  • LL Cool J
  • MC5
  • The Meters
  • Moody Blues
  • Radiohead
  • Rage Against the Machine
  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
  • Nina Simone
  • Sister Rosetta Tharpe
  • Link Wray
  • The Zombies