St. Vincent Announces Release Date for New 'First Person' Album 'Masseduction'

St. Vincent
Nedda Afsari

St. Vincent

The LP, co-produced by Jack Antonoff, will drop Oct. 13.

Following a series of cryptic, satirical promotional clips St. Vincent has finally announced the official release date of her upcoming album, Masseduction. The follow-up to singer Annie Clark's Grammy-nominated 2014 self-titled album is due out on Oct. 13 on Loma Vista Recordings. According to a statement announcing the release, the 13-track MASSEDUCTION will focus on themes of "power and sex, imperiled relationships and death" with a swirl of "guitar and piano, synths and strings, and drum beats that punch with purpose."

The album was co-produced by St. Vincent and Jack Antonoff and the singer says, "every record I make has an archetype. Strange Mercy was Housewives on Pills. St. Vincent was Near-Future Cult Leader. MASSEDUCTION is different, it's pretty first person. You can't fact-check it, but if you want to know about my life, listen to this record."

MASSEDUCTION  is described as the "culmination of years of writing, with songs crafted from voice memos, text messages, and snippets of melodies that came to Clark while traveling the globe." Among the guests on the album are: Thomas Bartlett (Doveman) on piano, Kamasi Washington on saxophone, Jenny Lewis on vocals, beat production from Sounwave, Greg Leisz and Rich Hinman on pedal steel, and Tuck and Patti Andress on guitar and vocals respectively on select tracks.

The singer hosted a press conference on the album on Facebook Live to announce her latest project, which, in the style of her sarcastic earlier promos, took no prisoners. "If we don’t destroy the planet super imminently, I think that the synchronicity is near," she says at one point.

You can also check out a new song from the album, the throbbing, new wavey "Los Ageless." Pre-order the album here.

The Fear the Future tour will kick off on Oct. 7 with a special performance on the Paramount Pictures Studio "New York Street" set as part of the Red Bull Academy Festival. Ticketholders to the singer's U.S. shows (except Detroit, Indianapolis and Boston) will automatically receive a digital download of the album on Oct. 13. Watch the video for first single "New York" and check out the album's track list below:


1) Hang on Me
2) Pills
3) Masseduction
4) Sugarboy
5) Los Ageless
6) Happy Birthday, Johnny
7) Savior
8) New York
9) Fear The Future
10) Young Lover
11) Dancing with a Ghost
12) Slow Disco
13) Smoking Section