Foo Fighters Announce Ninth Album, 'Concrete and Gold,' Due Out in September

Foo Fighters
Brantley Gutierrez 

Foo Fighters

We've already heard a handful of new Foo Fighters songs over the past few weeks as the group has rolled out fresh tunes at shows, including "Run," "La Dee Da" and "The Sky is a Neighborhood." But now we know where they will all come together: on the group's upcoming ninth album, Concrete and Gold. The latest from Dave Grohl and the guys is due out on Sept. 15 on Roswell Records/RCA Records, and in a statement announcing the LP, Grohl had some very exciting news for Foo fans.

"I wanted it to be the biggest sounding Foo Fighters record ever," he said. "To make a gigantic rock record but with [producer] Greg Kurstin's sense of melody and arrangement... Motorhead's version of Sgt. Pepper... or something like that." The band's first trip into the studio with Kurstin, best known for his work on radio-friendly pop tunes by Sia, Adele and Pink, came after Grohl was driving around four years ago listening to "Again and Again" by Kurstin's band The Bird & the Bee

"It blew my mind... it was so much more sophisticated than anything I'd ever heard and I became obsessed." The pair met a few months later and Grohl says he Stan'd all over Kurstin and they became fast pals. As a bonus, Dave learned that Kurstin was on hiatus from his band to focus on his work as a producer on songs such as Halsey's "Strangers," Sia's "The Greatest" and "Cheap Thrills" and Adele's "Hello."

Following their tour and documentary for Sonic Highways, Grohl caught up with Kurstin's work and was looking for a new challenge for his group. "So I think maybe Greg is the guy that we ask to be our producer, because he’s never made a heavy rock record before and we’ve never worked with a pop producer," Grohl said. The album was mixed and engineered by Darrel Thorp (Beck, Radiohead) and recorded in secret at Hollywood’s EastWest studios.

Below, check out full track listing for Concrete and Gold, which you can pre-order here now:

1. "T-Shirt"
2. "Run"
3. "Make it Right"
4. "The Sky is a Neighborhood"
5. "La Dee Da"
6. "Dirty Water"
7. "Arrows"
8. "Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)"
9. "Sunday Rain"
10. "The Line"
11. "Concrete and Gold"

Foo Fighters are set to headline Glastonbury on Saturday (June 24), then will headline Cal Jam 17 on Oct. 7 at the Glen Helen Regional Park with a bill that includes Queens of the Stone Age, Cage the Elephant, Liam Gallagher, The Kills, Royal Blood, Babes in Toyland, Japandroids, Bob Mould, Wolf Alice, The Struts, Circa Waves, Adia Victoria, Fireball Ministry, The Obsessed, Pinky Pinky, Starcrawler, White Reaper, Big Tony & Trouble Funk and more. 

Cal Jam, the Foos' brand new hand-curated festival, preludes an extensive North American tour over the final quarter of 2017. Tickets are available for pre-sale beginning June 26 at 9 a.m. local time, with Capital One cardholders getting the first crack. The Capital One sponsorship was brokered by MAC Presents on behalf of Foo Fighters. 



The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.