Blondie Bounce Back with 'Fun' Single; 'Pollinator' Album Will Feature Collabs with Sia, Charlie XCX, Joan Jett

Debbie Harry
Meredith Jenks

Debbie Harry photographed backstage at the 2016 Women in Music awards on Dec. 9, 2016 at Pier 36 in New York City.

Veteran New York new wavers Blondie have called in some serious reserves for their upcoming 11th studio album, Pollinator (due May 5 via BMG), with the set's first single, "Fun," dropping on Tuesday (Jan. 31). Among the collaborators on the disc are Sia, Joan Jett, Laurie Anderson, Charlie XCX, Johnny Marr, Blood Orange's Dev Hynes, Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio and the Strokes' Nick Valensi. 

The core trio of original members (singer Debbie Harry, guitarist Chris Stein and drummer Clem Burke) are joined by Sitek on "Fun," a spiky slab of disco punk featuring the uplifting chorus "You're my fun when I'm down/ You pick me up again, you pick me up again/ You're my fun too, much fun/ I get the feeling that you're changing my mind." 

The album was produced by John Congleton (Depeche Mode, St. Vincent) and was the last effort recorded at New York's legendary recording studio, The Magic Shop, the site of sessions for David Bowie's final album, Blackstar, which has since closed due to rising rent costs. Pollinator is the follow-up to 2014's Ghosts of Download.

Pollinator track list

1. Doom or Destiny
2. Long Time
3. Already Naked
4. Fun
5. My Monster
6. Best Day Ever
7. Gravity
8. When I Gave up on You
9. Love Level
10. Too Much
11. Fragments


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.