Mark Rivera Brings the '60s and the '70s to the Billboard Lounge at Barclays Center

Mark Rivera performs in 2014
Lloyd Bishop/NBC/NBCU Photo Bank via Getty Images

Mark Rivera performs on Jan. 24, 2014.

After the Cleveland Cavaliers rolled over the Brooklyn Nets on Friday (Jan. 6) , Mark Rivera -- longtime saxophonist for Billy Joel -- rocked the Billboard Lounge at Barclays Center.

The Brooklyn-born Rivera was joined by Andy Burton on keyboard and vocals, Doug Wimbish on bass guitar, Rocky Bryant on drums and Marc Ribler on guitar. The band made their way through several hits, including Curtis Mayfield's "Move on Up," Sly and the Family Stone's "Dance to the Music," The Beatles' "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band," Jimi Hendrix's "Fire," The Rolling Stones' "Brown Sugar," and Joe Cocker's "You Are So Beautiful."

During his set, Rivera showed off his impressive musical skills, which weren't limited to his saxophone. The musician sang several tunes, and even picked up a tambourine on occasion.

Prior to his set at the lounge, Rivera played the National Anthem before the basketball game. "I'm thrilled to be playing here for the Nets," he said in a pre-game Instagram interview.


Tonight's National Anthem & Billboard Lounge performer: Brooklyn Boy @MarkRiveraMusic ----

A video posted by Barclays Center (@barclayscenter) on

Upcoming shows at the Billboard Lounge include MICK on Feb. 1, BEACON on Feb. 3, A R I Z O N A on Feb. 10, and French Horn Rebellion on April 1.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.