The Shins Announce New Album 'Heartworms,' Release New Single 'Name for You'

The Shins perform in 2016
Tim Mosenfelder/Getty Images

The Shins perform during the 2016 Life is Beautiful festival on Sept. 23, 2016 in Las Vegas.

Indie pop fans can rejoice today (Jan. 5), as The Shins announced that they’re dropping a new album, Heartworms, on March 10 through Aural Apothecary/Columbia Records. The band made the announcement this morning, sharing a trippy lyric video for their feel-good pop-driven track, “Name For You.”

Heartworms is The Shins’ first new album since 2012, when they released Port Of Morrow. It also marks the first of the group's records that frontman James Mercer has produced solo since their 2001 debut, Oh, Inverted World.

Mercer was inspired to write “Name For You” -- which screams women’s empowerment -- by his three daughters. The Shins previously released the Halloween-ish single “Dead Alive” in October. When you pre-order the album you immediately receive both tracks.

See the full track listing for Heartworms below.

1. Name For You

2. Painting A Hole

3. Cherry Hearts

4. Fantasy Island

5. Mildenhall

6. Rubber Ballz

7. Half A Million

8. Dead Alive

9. Heartworms

10. So Now What

11. The Fear