Weezer Re-Releases 'White Album' With Unexpected Collaborators, Shares New Song

Weezer perform in 2016
Owen Sweeney/Invision/AP

Weezer perform in concert at the BB&T Pavilion on July 5, 2016 in Camden, N.J. 

Also, hear Wavves cover Weezer’s "You Gave Your Love to Me Softly."

Weezer’s latest self-titled album -- already dubbed The White Album -- hasn’t been out a year, but it’s already getting the deluxe re-release treatment, compiling musical odds and ends from the band’s year, in addition to some new music.

Out of the blue, the White Album re-release news broke Wednesday (Oct. 5), with Weezer announcing the new set’s arrival just two days from now, a.k.a. Friday. In addition to the 10 original songs, the deluxe edition features previously shared Weezer NASA tribute “I Love the USA” (since re-purposed as an Olympics anthem), “Fake Smiles and Nervous Laughter” (which also appears on a split 7-inch with Wavves), another new song called “Friend of a Friend,” and a remix of album cut “Jacked Up” featuring -- rather unexpectedly -- Pussy Riot’s Nadya Tolokonnikova and Michael Fitzpatrick, vocalist of Fitz and the Tantrums.

Weezer Hypes Its Brand New 'White Album' at Intimate Brooklyn Show

Unfortunately, we haven’t been gifted that piece of Weezer collaborative lore just yet, but we do have one of the previously unreleased songs. Below, find the synthy power-pop number “Fake Smiles and Nervous Laughter,” which debuted Wednesday on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show:

And if that’s not enough Weezer deep cuts for you, Lowe also premiered Wavves’ contribution from that split 7-inch -- a cover of the Pinkerton-era B-side “You Gave Your Love to Me Softly.”