Listen to Kings of Leon's Driving New Single, "Waste a Moment"

David McClister
Nathan, Caleb, Matthew and Jared Followill of Kings Of Leon photographed on Aug. 17, 2016 at Citation Support in Nashville.

Kings of Leon are back in their groove. After nearly falling apart amid infighting and tension over their previous album, 2013's Mechanical Bull, the Followills appear to have gotten back into their signature sultry rock pocket on their new single "Waste a Moment," which dropped on Friday (Sept. 9). 

Opening with a thrumming bass line, some jangly guitars and a quicktime rhythm, singer Caleb Followill jumping right into a first verse filled with evocative images of a woman not to be trifled with. "All the way from Waco to WeHo/ With a rabbit on her chain/ Drove a little slick car to tend bar/ With the static on her brain," he sings, warning, "She’s a little burner gonna throw you to the flame/ Little ticking time bomb gonna blow us all away." 

Kings of Leon: The Billboard Photo Shoot


The familial band's seventh effort was recorded in Los Angeles with producer Markus Dravs, best known for his work with Coldplay and Mumford & Sons, a break with their long partnership with Angelo Petraglia, who produced their previous six albums. "We said, 'Let's f--ing go to L.A., eat some sushi, get some sunshine,' " Caleb told Billboard. "The whole thing just felt a lot more organic."

Dravs helped push them out of their comfort zone, questioning their routine and musical tendencies, asking them to endlessly play certain parts and write new verses on the fly. "He just said things that nobody had ever said to us,"  guitarist Jared said. "Like, 'I don't like that song, that's not good, we can move on from that.' He'd be like, 'OK, now play it like The Sex Pistols.' And then you've turned a slow song into a fast one."

Track listing for Walls

1. "Waste A Moment"

2. "Reverend"

3. "Around The World"

4. "Find Me"

5. "Over"

6. "Muchacho"

7. "Conversation Piece" 

8. "Eyes On You"

9. "Wild"

10. "WALLS"