New Metallica Is Here: Watch Video for 'Hardwired' & Get New Album Details

Ross Halfin


Seven years and countless new music teases since their last studio album, Metallica has finally delivered on its intent to share new music in 2016. The long-awaited LP is called Hardwired…To Self-Destruct, and it’s due Nov. 18 via Blackened Recordings, the band’s own imprint. 

They’ve also shared its lead track, “Hardwired.” The Minneapolis radio station 93X premiered it earlier Thursday (Aug. 18), and now the video is here too: 

Hardwired…To Self-Destruct was produced by Greg Fidelman (an engineer and mixer on 2008's Death Magnetic), along with the band’s James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich.  

Metallica's 'Black Album': Happy 25th Birthday, Here's What You Have in Common with Shania Twain

Those hoping to learn more about the new music would be smart to check out Metallica’s Saturday show at Minneapolis’ U.S. Bank Stadium, which opened just last month. Tickets are sold out, but if you can’t make it, you’re still in luck: The whole thing is livestreaming via Pandora.

Below, find the cover art and complete track list (standard and deluxe edition). 

Disc One:

Atlas, Rise!
Now That We’re Dead
Moth Into Flame
Am I Savage?
Halo On Fire

Disc Two:

Dream No More
Here Comes Revenge
Murder One
Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three: (Deluxe Edition Only)

Lords Of Summer
Riff Charge (Riff Origins)
N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)
Tin Shot (Riff Origins)
Plow (Riff Origins)
Sawblade (Riff Origins)
RIP (Riff Origins)
Lima (Riff Origins)
91 (Riff Origins)
MTO (Riff Origins)
RL72 (Riff Origins)
Frankenstein (Riff Origins)
CHI (Riff Origins)
X Dust (Riff Origins)


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.