Prophets of Rage Drops Debut EP Details, Shares Reworked Public Enemy Jam

Prophets of Rage perform in 2016
Alex Markow/Getty Images

Prophets of Rage perform at The Agora Theatre during the RNC on July 19, 2016 in Cleveland.

Prophets of Rage are kicking off their North American tour on Friday, so it’s a fitting time for the Rage Against the Machine-Cypress Hill-Public Enemy supergroup to announce some new music. 

On Aug. 26, they’ll release an EP called The Party’s Over, their first collection of recorded tunes since forming earlier this year to rage against the absurdity of the 2016 election. Are they saying -- gasp -- the Republican Party is over? Or does the entire American two-party system have to fight for its right?

Prophets of Rage: 5 Reasons You Need to See the Exhilarating Supergroup In Concert

The five-song collection arrives through Caroline Records and features five tracks, three of them live cuts: The new band performing Rage’s “Killing in the Name,” Public Enemy’s “Shut 'Em Down,” and a 2016 take on the Beastie Boys’ “No Sleep Til Brooklyn” called “No Sleep Til Cleveland.” There are also two studio recordings: a new track called “The Party’s Over” and a reworking of the Public Enemy song from which the supergroup gets its name. Take a listen to “Prophets of Rage” below:

The tour kicks off Friday in Fairfax, Va., and continues through mid-October. For a taste of what’s in store, check out Billboard’s coverage of Prophets of Rage’s first gig.

Here’s the official track list for the new EP:

The Party’s Over EP:
1. “Prophets of Rage”
2. “The Party’s Over”
3. “Killing in the Name (live)”
4. “Shut Em Down (live)”
5. “No Sleep Til Cleveland (live)”


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.