The Head and The Heart Announce New Album, Release 'All We Ever Knew' Single: Exclusive Premiere

The Head and the Heart photographed in 2016
James Minchin

The Head and the Heart

The members of The Head and the Heart have been everything but still these last few years after the release of 2013's Let's Be Still. Pianist Kenny Hensley learned to fly planes and took up kung-fu in China; bassist Chris Zasche explored the Canadian Rockies; drummer Tyler Williams immersed himself in the growing music scene of Richmond, Virginia; vocalist and multi-instrumentalist Charity Rose Thielen sharpened her compositional skills by writing for Mavis Staples; vocalist/guitarist Jonathan Russell worked with the nonprofit Artists for Peace and Justice in Haiti.

Numerous passports stamps and personal epiphanies later, the members reconvened in California last year and began working on their third full album and first Warner Bros. release, Signs of Light.

"Signs of Light is our third record as a band, but it is the very first of many on Warner Bros. Records, and we could not be more excited to join their family and become part of their great legacy," Russell tells Billboard. "These songs are a snapshot of where we have been, where we are now, and where we are going to take people."

The Head and the Heart: The Billboard Cover Story

When the members reunited to start writing together again, "It almost felt like we were a new band, trying things we hadn’t tried," Zasche says. "We stayed at a bungalow on the beach. We’d wake up, have coffee and go boogie boarding. We were ready and excited to be back together."

"We really worked hard and pushed to reinvent," says producer Jay Joyce. "Not an easy task. They came through with something incredible."

Lead single "All We Ever Knew" was written during their Let's Be Still days, but the band couldn't get the final product to match their expectations -- until now. Listen to "All We Ever Knew" below, and get Signs of Light on September 9.

Here's the track listing and the cover artwork for the new album:

1. All We Ever Knew
2. City of Angels
3. Rhythm & Blues
4. False Alarm
5. Dreamer
6. Library Magic
7. Turn It Around
8. Colors
9. Take a Walk
10. Oh My Dear
11. I Don’t Mind
12. Your Mother’s Eyes
13. Signs of Light