Temper Trap Is Back: Band Premieres New Anthem, Details Forthcoming Album (Exclusive)

The Temper Trap 2016
Courtesy Photo

The Temper Trap

Australian rockers The Temper Trap are returning to the fray with their third studio album. Billboard has an exclusive look at its debut single, along with all the other details for the new release.

The LP is called Thick as Thieves, and it’s due out June 10 on Glassnote Records. 

“The new album is filled with hope, raw energy and a passion that brought us back to the early days,” drummer/vocalist Toby Dundas. The band has been together for over a decade, and they came to prominence with their 2008 single “Sweet Disposition” (heard in places like the (500) Days of Summer soundtrack). Dundas knows full well what it’s like to take the time necessary to craft a cohesive album. 

M83 Talks Latest Opus: 'You Can Have Fun & Cry at the Same Time'

“We're definitely slow burners when it comes to writing albums so we're beyond excited to finally share 'Fall Together' with you. [Frontman] Dougy [Mandagi]’s melodies are uplifting and the music has grit and attitude.”

Indeed, “Fall Together” sounds like a powerhouse, ready to contend for time in radio playlists. The Temper Trap collaborated with an outside writer -- a first for the band -- in bringing this one to life. Lana Del Rey collaborator Justin Parker penned it with them, and the likes of Ben Allen, Pascal Gabriel and Malay (co-writer and producer of Frank Ocean’s Channel Orange) appear on the LP.

Give a listen to “Fall Together” below:


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.