U2 to Receive Innovator Award at iHeartRadio Music Awards

U2 Bono
Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Bono and Adam Clayton perform onstage during the U2 "iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE" tour at Madison Square Garden on July 31, 2015 in New York City.

U2 will be presented with the 2016 iHeartRadio Innovator Award at Sunday's third annual iHeartRadio Music Awards show. 

The honor comes as tribute to the iconic rock band's impact on popular culture across the world and contributions to the music industry and social causes. 

Jason Derulo to Host iHeartRadio Music Awards

"U2 is a band of activists, not only in music but in politics, popular culture and human rights," President of entertainment enterprises for iHeartMedia John Sykes said in a statement. "They began as a punk band and that attitude still runs strong throughout their songwriting, albums and live performances. They will never stop testing the limits, and that's why we are honored to recognize them with this Innovator Award."

Celebrating 40 years as a band this year, Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen, Jr. are also nominated for the 2016 iHeartRadio Music Awards' Best Tour category. 

iHeartRadio Music Awards Announce 2016 Nominees, Performers & New Categories

"It is extremely rare to have a band that has spent four decades not only changing music, but helping change the world with their tireless dedication to important social causes focusing on AIDS, poverty, cancer, the environment, Hurricane Katrina and much more,” President of national programming group for iHeartMedia Tom Poleman said in a statement. "We're thrilled to be able to honor U2 with the 2016 iHeartRadio Innovator Award."

This year's iHeartMusic Awards will be hosted by Jason Derulo and will feature performances from Justin Bieber, Meghan Trainor, Zayn Malik, Chris Brown, DNCE, Fetty Wap, Demi Lovato and more. It will be broadcast live across iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide and online, as well as telecast for the first time on TBS, TNT and truTV at 8 p.m. EST.