AIM Independent Music Awards 2015 Winners: FKA Twigs, All Time Low, Flying Lotus & More

FKA twigs
Mark Horton/WireImage

FKA twigs performs on Day 1 of the Osheaga Music and Art Festival on July 31, 2015 in Montreal, Canada. 

The 2015 AIM Independent Music Awards were handed out Tuesday night (Sept. 8) at London's The Brewery in what can only be described as a boozy celebration with most winners absent from the function.

Young Fathers (best difficult second album), representatives of the Numero Group (special catalogue release), Swans (hardest working band), Marc Riley (indie champion), Flying Lotus (independent video of the year), All Time Low (best live act) and Skepta (outstanding contribution to music) were all missing from the show. Granted, some of them said thank you via video message, such as BBC 6 Music's Marc Riley, who claimed to have "the best job in the world," or Swans' Michael Gera (most likely he was wearing a mask), who acknowledged the truly hard-working people out there like plumbers or Amazon Prime staff.

Alt-J, FKA Twigs & Bjork Nominated for AIM Independent Awards

Several recipients were already quite tipsy and their slight slur made what would have otherwise been generic acceptance speeches quite entertaining. Notably sober: Robert Raths, founder of Erased Tapes Records (best small label), who dedicated his award to his artists' fans who made to the Royal Albert Hall even when the Tube was on strike. Or FKA Twigs, who showed her appreciation for being able to work in music by thanking her mom and dad for not sending her to college. The legendary Digby Pearson, even after 40 years of pioneering underground metal bands, was humble enough to not forget his staff.

Hosts Alice Levine and John Kennedy were funny enough, assuming that they probably only got to host the show for a second time in a row because of some "copy-and-paste error." And the evening's star was Noel Gallagher, who presented Jungle with the PPL Award for most played new independent act and joked: "This isn't Liam, by the way" -- only to be addressed by Jungle's Josh Lloyd Watson as "Liam."

See all winners below:

Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services): Erased Tape Records

Best Difficult Second Album (in association with XFM): Young Fathers - ‘White Men Are Black Men Too’

Special Catalogue Release of the Year (in association with Amazon Music): Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame

Hardest Working Band or Artist: Swans

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (in association with AIF, voted for by readers of DIY): Brainchild Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year: Wolf Alice

Indie Champion (in association with CI): Marc Riley, BBC 6 Music

Independent Video of the Year (in association with Vevo): Flying Lotus - ‘Never Catch Me’

Best Live Act (in association with Jack Daniel’s, voted for by visitors to Songkick): All Time Low

Independent Track of the Year (in association with Spotify): FKA Twigs - ‘Two Weeks’

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act: Jungle

Independent Album of the Year (in association with dotFans): Enter Shikari - ‘The Mindsweep’

Independent Label of the Year (in association with Believe Digital): Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award (in association with The Orchard): Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award (in association with Promostream): Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with Merlin): Skepta