Exclusive: August Burns Red Attack Eco 'Apathy' in New Single 'The Wake'

August Burns Red 2015
Fearless Records

Pennsylvania metalcore quintet August Burns Red are back with their sixth studio album, Found In Far Away Places. Billboard is exclusively premiering "The Wake," which is both the first song on the album, and its first single.

Skillet and August Burns Red Heading for Top 10 Debuts on Billboard 200 Chart

"We wanted to start the record with a bang and this song is a real kick in the mouth," guitarist JB Brubaker tells Billboard. "It's fast and heavy while discussing how our planet is being destroyed by the gross misuse of our resources, and the general apathy of the human race when it comes to caring for the Earth."

The band, which will be be supporting the June 30 release of their album with a main stage slot on this summer's Warped tour, is looking to follow up the success of 2013's Rescue & Restore, which debuted at No. 9 on the Billboard 200.

Found In Far Away Places, the group's first release on Fearless Records, will feature a guest vocal spot from Jeremy McKinnon of A Day To Remember. The full tracklist is below.

1. The Wake
2. Martyr 
3. Identity 
4. Separating The Seas
5. Ghosts (Featuring Jeremy McKinnon) 
6. Majoring In The Minors
7. Everlasting Ending 
8. Broken Promises 
9. Blackwood
10. Twenty-One Grams 
11. Vanguard 

Preorder Found In Far Away Places starting at 8pm PST tonight (April 13) via the band's site.


The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.

To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.