Maisie Peters Signs to Ed Sheeran's Gingerbread Man Records, Preps 'Psycho' Single

Maisie Peters
Courtesy Photo

Maisie Peters

British singer-songwriter Maisie Peters has signed with Ed Sheeran's Gingerbread Man Records, and is prepping her new single, "Psycho" for a July 2 release. "Signing to Gingerbread is a dream come true," said Peters, 21, in a statement.

"I grew up inspired and in awe of Ed, like many other 13-year-olds who heard ‘Lego House’ for the first time, so, it’s kind of amazing and hard to believe that I get to be the 21-year-old who is able to call him and the whole Gingerbread team now friends, family and mentors for life."

Peters, who began uploading songs to YouTube more than five years ago, will release her debut album, You Signed Up For This, on Aug. 27; her single "Psycho" was co-written by Sheeran and Steve Mac. "I’m so excited to announce You Signed Up For This. It really is my (albeit not hugely long) life’s work and my proudest achievement; it is my favorite album maybe ever, and whilst I may be biased, I really hope it goes into the world and becomes lots of other people’s favorite too," Peters continued. "It all means the world and is my world and there is nothing I would rather do.”

Peters has drawn praise from Taylor Swift and Sam Smith, among others, and her album is full of songs that display her knack for "transforming everyday experiences in to vividly written diary-style songs," according to the release. The collection is described as Maisie's "coming of age story and a love letter to girlhood; penned with the wit, charm and quiet confidence that has seen her ascend from busking on the streets of Brighton, to recently making her U.S. TV debut on The Late Late Show With James Corden."

The sharp, observant ballad "John Hughes Movie," was released as the first taste of You Signed Up in February, racking up more than 11.5 million streams to date. According to the release, Peters has been honing her songwriting for three years in sessions in London, Los Angeles and Nashville, where she worked with Sheeran, Mac, Fred again.., Johnny McDaid, Miranda Cooper, as well as producers Joe Rubel (Tom Grennan), Afterhrs (Niall Horan, GRACEY), Rob Milton (Holly Humberstone) and Brad Ellis (Little Mix) on the 14-track album.

"Excited to announce that I’ve signed the wonderful Maisie Peters to Gingerbread Man Records," said Sheeran in a statement. "She’s a very special artist who continues to push her storytelling in new directions. We had a few great writing sessions together and from there I knew I had to work with her. Can’t wait for you to hear her debut album.”

You Signed Up is actually Peters' second full-length release in the span of three months, following on the heels of her becoming the youngest musician ever to write and curate a soundtrack -- for the Apple TV+ original series Trying -- at just 20 years old. The studio album was written in two months last winter, and includes duets with Griff, James Bay and Bear’s Den.

You Signed Up For This tracklist:

1. "You Signed Up For This"

2. "I’m Trying (Not Friends)"

3. "John Hughes Movie"

4. "Outdoor Pool"

5. "Love Him I Don’t"

6. "Psycho"

7. "Boy"

8. "Hollow"

9. "Villain"

10. "Brooklyn"

11. "Elvis Song"

12. "Talking To Strangers"

13. "Volcano"

14. "Tough Act"