All-Star Adam Schlesinger Tribute Album 'Saving For a Custom Van' Benefits COVID-19 Relief

Adam Schlesinger
Walter McBride/Getty Images

Adam Schlesinger attends the 'Crazy Ex-Girlfriend' Live Event at the Feinstein's/54 Below on Nov. 3, 2016 in New York City.

Sarah Silverman, Rachel Bloom, Nada Surf and Ted Leo contributed to the 31-track album.

It's fitting that late Fountains of Wayne singer Adam Schlesinger's friends and musical colleagues are remembering the prolific, wildly talented songwriter with a tribute album benefitting COVID-19 relief. The 31-track Saving for a Custom Van, out today on Father/Daughter Records & Wax Nine and available exclusively on Bandcamp, features Schlesinger's collaborators, tour mates, friends and fans offering up their versions of songs from throughout the Fountains of Wayne singer/songwriter's expansive career.

Schlesinger, who died on April 1 at age 52 due to complications from COVID-19, is honored by Crazy Ex-Girlfriend co-creator/executive producer and star Rachel Bloom, who reworks FoW's most beloved song, "Stacy's Mom" into a jazzy cabaret track. The album also features comedian Sarah Silverman teaming with Ben Lee for a folky take on "Way Back Into Love" from the 2007 movie Music and Lyrics.

Other contributors include FoW guitarist Jody Porter covering "Four in the Morning" from Schlesinger's other band, Ivy, while Letters to Cleo's Kay Hanley takes on the power pop nugget "Radiation Vibe," Motion City Soundtrack do "Dip in the Ocean" and Nada Surf take a "Sick Day." All proceeds from the album will go to the MusiCares COVID-19 Relief Fund, which is helping music industry community members affected by the coronavirus pandemic. Click here to purchase the album.

Check out the track list for Saving for a Custom Van below and listen to Hanley's "Vibe":

Apex Manor - "Utopia Parkway"

Tanya Donelly and Gail Greenwood - "Undertow"

Jeff Rosenstock - "Please Don't Rock Me Tonight"

Kay Hanley - "Radiation Vibe"

Ben Lee and Sarah Silverman - "Way Back Into Love"

Remember Sports - "Just the Girl"

Rachel Bloom - "Stacy’s Mom"

Christian Lee Hutson - "Red Dragon Tattoo"

Sad13 - "A Fine Day For a Parade"

Jack Dolgen - "What’ll It Be"

Motion City Soundtrack - "A Dip in the Ocean"

Field Mouse - "Valley Winter Song"

Cheekface - "That Thing You Do"

Lucy Stone - "I’ve Got a Flair"

Nada Surf - "Sick Day"

Jody Porter - "Four in the Morning"

Suzy Shinn and Charlie Brand - "All Kinds of Time"

Ted Leo - "Everyday"

Potty Mouth - "I’ve Got A Feeling"

Cocktails - "Sink to the Bottom"

Bree McKenna - "Our Twisted Fate"

Ethan Eubanks - "Troubled Times"

Ali Koehler - "Hackensack"

Charly Bliss - "Pretend to Be Nice"

Julian Velard and Alex Dezen - "Michael and Heather at the Baggage Claim"

HUNNY - "Tess Don’t Tell"

Mikey Erg - "Hey Julie"

Off Book and the Family Band - "Come On"

Prince Daddy & The Hyena and Just Friends - "Mexican Wine"

Lisa Prank - "Little Red Light"

Joshua Stoddard - "Survival Car"