Coronavirus

Charli XCX Launches 'Self-Isolating' Livestream Series With Rita Ora, Diplo, Clairo and More Pals

Charli XCX
Marcus Cooper

Charli XCX

The daily live broadcasts will kick off on Wednesday (March 18).

Charli XCX is using this moment of coronavirus lock-in to give her fans something special. The singer announced a new series of daily "self-isolating" Instagram livestream shows on Wednesday (March 18), that will feature drops-in from special guests including Diplo, Clairo, Rita Ora and many more.

The shows, "aimed at providing support to those currently self-isolating due to the COVID-19 pandemic," will begin at 5 p.m. UK/noon EST on Wednesday, according to a press release, with the singer inviting various guests to "spark conversation, share insight, or simply entertain fans across the world who are currently practicing social distancing."

The first show will feature Christine and the Queens in an "open conversation" about the current pandemic. The talk will also delve into how the pandemic can affect creativity and mental health, with Charli inviting fans to submit questions ahead of the stream.

Thursday's (March 19) show will invite Diplo in for a livestream personal training session, followed by a Friday session with Rita Ora for a Girl's Night In and Saturday game of "Would U Rather?" with Kim Petras and an art class with Clairo on Sunday. Viewers are encouraged to be active participants and join in the conversation and take part at home. "Through the week’s entire program of online events, Charli will be looking to connect the online world and the real world through shared experience - spreading positivity via her own platform," read the statement. "We’re all in this together, so self-isolation doesn’t have to be isolating."

Charli is the latest artist to take her music online for a livestream as venues, festivals and tours around the globe have gone dark due to fears over the spread of the virus, creating an entirely new paradigm for musicians and fans almost overnight.

Check the singer's Instagram for programming updates and see the full schedule for this week below:

Wednesday 18th March 2020 - 5pm UK time / 9am PST An Emo Chat w/ Christine and the Queens

Thursday 19th March 2020 - 6pm UK time / 10am PST Personal Training w/ Diplo

Friday 20th March 2020 - Time TBC Girls Night In w/ Rita Ora

Saturday 21st March 2020 - Time TBC Would U Rather w/ Kim Petras

Sunday 22nd March 2020 - 8pm UK time / 12 noon PST Art Class w/ Clairo

A number of nations have ordered their citizens to avoid large crowds and stay at home in order to slow the spread of the currently incurable novel coronavirus, which has infected more than 208,000 globally and killed 8,272, including 116 in the United States.

Coronavirus


THE BILLBOARD BIZ
SUBSCRIBER EXPERIENCE

The Biz premium subscriber content has moved to Billboard.com/business.


To simplify subscriber access, we have temporarily disabled the password requirement.