Everything We Know About Halsey's 'Manic' Album So Far

Halsey's highly-anticipated third album Manic is coming in less than a month (Jan. 17), and the songstress announced the full track list on Tuesday (Dec. 3). 

Since announcing the album's title back in September, the singer has slowly been dropping hints and info about the record, but for the most part is keeping it all pretty mysterious. Until the release, here's everything we know about Manic, Halsey's first album since 2017's hopeless fountain kingdom.

The personal theme of Manic

In September, the singer joined fans for an intimate "Evening With Halsey" at the Grammy Museum in Los Angeles, where she revealed that Manic is a tribute to her true self, beneath the "Halsey" stage name. 

"The reason this album ended up becoming what it is, which is a very, very personal conversation," she explained. "It’s part of the reason I’ve been using a lot of Ashley talk in this album, because it does feel very much like a look behind the curtain in a way. A curtain I never intended to put up but it’s just kind of there, because I was young and scared of showing—I didn’t know who I was deeply so it was irresponsible for me to tell the whole world, ‘This is who I am!’ And the world is like, ‘You’re 21, no it’s not.’ I’m going to be 25 in a couple of days, which is terrifying because I still feel 19."

A tour

On the same day as the Grammy Museum chat, Halsey unveiled the first slew of tour dates for 2020, including European stops in Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Germany, Switzerland, Luxembourg, Belgium, Scotland and Ireland.


Manic World Tour (First Installment) Tickets on sale Friday ManicWorldTour.com

A post shared by halsey (@iamhalsey) on

Four singles

Ahead of the full album's release, Halsey (so far) has dropped three songs. October 2018's "Without Me" became Halsey's first Billboard Hot 100 chart topper, detailing a toxic, draining relationship.

"Nightmare," released back in May, is the angsty girl anthem we've all been waiting for, fighting back at the misogynistic cat call, "C'mon little lady, give us a smile?" 

"Graveyard" followed in September, taking a more serious tone as Halsey paints a picture of “being in love with someone who is in a bad place and loving them so much that you don’t realize that you’re going to that bad place with them,” as she explained during a seven-hour YouTube live stream.

"Clementine" was released on the star's 25th birthday (Sept. 29), along with a touching video of Halsey and her younger brother Sevian Frangipane dancing through a dimly lit aquarium. The song nods Kate Winslet's character in the 2004 film, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

Three "interlude" collaborations & full track list

On Tuesday (Dec. 3), Halsey revealed the full track list to Manic. The 16-track album features a self-titled song "Ashley," as well as three "interludes," which appear to be collaborations with Florida singer Dominic Fike ("Dominic's Interlude"), singer-songwriter Alanis Morissette ("Alanis' Interlude") and South Korean rapper Suga of BTS ("Suga's Interlude").