Kristin Chenoweth Enlists Ariana Grande, Dolly Parton, Jennifer Hudson and Reba McEntire for New Set: Exclusive

Kristin Chenoweth
Gian Andrea di Stefan

Kristin Chenoweth

On her new album, For The Girls, Kristin Chenoweth pairs with Ariana Grande, Dolly Parton, Jennifer Hudson and Reba McEntire to salute great female singers who have come before them. 

The Emmy and Tony Award-winning singer’s seventh album, out Sept. 27, features her and her guests interpreting 12 classic songs identified with such iconic artists as Barbra Streisand ("The Way We Were"), Dinah Washington ("What a Diff'rence A Day Made"), Doris Day ("When I Fall In Love"), Patsy Cline ("Crazy"), Judy Garland ("The Man That Got Away"), Carole King ("Will You Love Me Tomorrow”) and Linda Ronstadt (“Desperado").

"I really wanted to pay homage to all the women singers who have influenced me over the years," Chenoweth said in a statement. "I wanted to make something that men could also enjoy, but this is by the girls and for the girls. These songs have all stood the test of time, and most of them are songs that I grew up listening to. It was a little intimidating, because people like Judy, Barbra and Dolly are the people who made me want to be a singer in the first place. I wanted to pay homage to these women and do them proud, but I also wanted to put my own stamp on it. And I think I was able to do that.”


Grande joins Chenoweth for a remake of Lesley Gore’s “You Don’t Own Me,”  Hudson and McEntire trade vocals with Chenoweth on “I’m A Woman,” popularized by Peggy Lee, while Parton, naturally, lends her voice to Chenoweth’s take on “I Will Always Love You.” 

"These are some of my favorite singers in the world," the Broadway superstar said. "'I Will Always Love You' is a song I've loved since I was a child. I used to think, 'One day I'm going to sing that song.' Little did I know that I'd get to sing it with the queen herself.”

The album, released via Concord Records, reunites Chenoweth with producer Steve Tyrell, who helmed her 2016 album The Art of Elegance. 

For the Girls track listing:

"The Way We Were"
"You Don’t Own Me" with Ariana Grande
"It Doesn't Matter Anymore"
"I Will Always Love You" with Dolly Parton
"What a Diff'rence a Day Makes"
"When I Fall In Love"
"The Man That Got Away"
"I'm A Woman" with Jennifer Hudson & Reba McEntire

"Will You Love Me Tomorrow"

"I Wanna Be Around"