HBO's 'Big Little Lies' Season 2 Soundtrack Features Elle King, Leon Bridges & More: See Full Track List

big little lies
 Jennifer Clasen/HBO   

Shailene Woodley, Zoë Kravitz, Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Laura Dern in season 2 of Big Little Lies.

Look for a few new tracks from Leon Bridges and more.

As season 2 of HBO's Big Little Lies comes to a close with its finale on July 21, the series is unveiling details about its soul-tinged soundtrack exclusively via Billboard today (July 16).

The soundtrack, which will be released on July 19, features several retro tracks from the '70s including The Spinners' 1973 hit "I'll Be Around," Ann Peebles' 1974 track "Until You Came Into My Life," and “Great Big Bundle of Love” by Benton Wood.

The series' producer and director Jean-Marc Vallée shares with Billboard, “Welcome back to Big Little Lies’ music world, where the characters are the ones spinning. From Jane to little Chloe to Renata, Celeste, Madeline, Bonnie and Abigail, here is a taste of their ecclectic selection of songs from different areas and styles that define season 2 and reveal a little bit more of their characters.”

The sountrack also includes a cover of Neil Young’s “Harvest Moon” by Cassandra Wilson, and Fleetwood Mac’s "Dreams" is covered by Pop Etc. Willie Nelson and daughter Paula Nelson team up to cover Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Have You Ever Seen The Rain” and Elle King’s 2018 Shake The Spirit track, “Good Thing Gone,” is also included.

Plus, look for a trio of previously-unreleased tracks including Christina Vierra and The Ryan Rehm Band’s recording of “Piece of My Heart,” Leon Bridges’ “That Was Yesterday” and My Morning Jacket’s Jim James with “Why Can’t We Live Together,” originally a '72 Timmy Thomas hit.

Bridges tells Billboard of his contribution: “A lil' song from archives I wrote with my good friend Dan Wilson after the whirlwind that was the Coming Home album and touring cycle. Thank you for all your love and support.”

"I have long loved ‘Why Can’t We Live Together’ and had actually covered it several times, so when I was approached to record a version for Big Little Lies, I was very excited," James also tells Billboard. "They needed the song, practically overnight, so I performed, recorded, and mixed the song all in one day and the timing worked out; it was a lot of fun. We need a song with a message of peace and love so much in these troubled and confusing times."

Preview the track list below ahead of its July 19 release.

Big Little Lies Season 2 (Music From The Limited HBO Series) Track List:

1. I'll Be Around - The Spinners (Episode 1)
2. Good Thing Gone - Elle King (Episode 2)
3. Harvest Moon - Cassandra Wilson (Episode 1)
4. Until You Came Into My Life - Ann Peebles (Episode 6)
5. The Fade Out Line - Phoebe Killdeer and The Short Straws (Episode 1)
6. Great Big Bundle of Love - Brenton Wood (Episode 2)
7. Let Love Stand A Chance - Charles Bradley (feat. Menahan Street Band) (Episode 2)
8. Baby - Donnie & Joe Emerson (Episode 5)
9. Dreams - Pop Etc (Episode 4)
10. That Was Yesterday - Leon Bridges (Episode 7)
11. Why Can't We Live Together - Jim James (Episode 4)
12. Have You Ever Seen The Rain - Willie Nelson feat. Paula Nelson (Episode 7)
13. Piece of My Heart - Christina Vierra and The Ryan Rehm Band (Episode 7)
14. Shake Sugaree - Elizabeth Cotten and Brenda Evans (Episode 6)

Courtesy Photo
The soundtrack from season 2 of Big Little Lies.