Shura Announces New Album 'Forevher,' Drops Cinematic 'Religion' Video: Watch

Hollie Fernando
Shura

Shura announced her sophomore album, Forevher, and debuted second single "Religion (U Can Lay Your Hands On Me)" on Wednesday (June 12). 

The forthcoming album is set to arrive on August 16 via Secretly Canadian. It's primarily about the singer's long distance relationship with her girlfriend, and how something that was once desire has turned into something much more meaningful.

Co-produced by Joel Pott, Shura describes Forevher in a statement as “a soul record, sung by someone who doesn’t have a traditional soul voice. And I quite enjoy the antagonism of that.”

The single is accompanied with a picturesque video, which was directed by Chloe Wallace and explores the idea of sex being like a religion in a Garden of Eden-inspired setting. The singer ominously walks around, dressed in all white, looking over nuns who secretly want to explore with each other. "It could be L.A./ It could be Heaven/ If you’re an Angel, can I be your God?" Shura sings along a funky, '80s synth-driven rhythm, referring to the constant yearning caused by long distance.

"Religion" is the follow up to the singer's first single, "Bklynldn." She will also be heading out on a tour across North America, plus a handful of U.K. dates, this fall.

Check out the video, album artwork, and upcoming tour dates below.

TOUR DATES

Wed. June 19 - London, UK @ Moth Club
Thu. June 27 - Bristol, UK @ Louisiana
Sat. June 29 - Worthy Farm, UK @ Glastonbury Festival
Thu. Sept 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Venue
Fri. Sept. 27 – Seattle, WA @ Crocodile
Sat. Sept. 28 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
Mon. Sept. 30 – San Francisco, CA @ Independent
Wed. Oct. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Thu. Oct. 3 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Wed. Oct. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Thu. Oct. 17 - Columbus, OH @ The Basement
Fri. Oct. 18 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Sat. Oct. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Oct. 20 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Tue. Oct. 22 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Wed. Oct. 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Mon. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ CafĂ© de la Danse
Tue. Nov. 5 – Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Wed. Nov. 6 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Thu. Nov. 7 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Fri. Nov. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Mojo
Sun. Nov. 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Hotel Cecil
Tue. Nov. 12 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
Wed. Nov. 13 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique Orangerie
Thu. Nov. 14 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Sat. Nov. 16 – Dublin, IE @ Academy
Sun. Nov. 17 – Glasgow, UK @ Oran Mor
Mon. Nov. 18 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Ritz Manchester