Pop

Jess Glynne Describes the 'Reassuring' Process of Writing 'Thursday' With Ed Sheeran & Steve Mac: Watch

Jess Glynne recently sat down with Billboard to describe how she created her song “Thursday” with co-writers Ed Sheeran and Steve Mac, and why she found it so reassuring to speak with Sheeran during the process.

Glynne tells Billboard that a couple of years ago, when she was starting to write her second album, she arranged a session with Mac (the pair previously collaborated on her track “Take Me Home”). Mac mentioned to Glynne that Ed Sheeran was around and wanted to come to the session, too, so the three of them sat down together to share a meal and chat for hours about life.

“We spoke about the highs and lows of being famous and doing the job that we do,” explains Glynne. “It was really cool because for me as an artist, I don't really work with that many artists, and obviously you never know how it is for someone else and you feel like you don't know whether that's just you.” She adds that she found it very comforting to discover that the “Shape Of You” singer suffers from the same insecurities as she does.

Those insecurities are where the song “Thursday” stem from, notes Glynne, who says that being in the spotlight, she feels like she is constantly being judged. “If you're not smiling and in the best mood or looking amazing, someone’s gonna make a comment,” she says. “Social media can be the devil sometimes and can make you judge yourself, and not for the right reasons.”

As for where the song’s title came from, Glynne points out that the “Thursday” part is irrelevant, and that not wearing makeup on a Thursday was just an example of her wanting to do all of things to make herself feel good. But, she adds, that particular example resonated with Ed and Steve, so they suggested she call the song “Thursday.”

You can watch the video above to hear the full story of how Jess Glynne created her song “Thursday,” and check out the song below.

Jess Glynne will heading out on her Always In Between headline US tour dates this March, and she will be supporting Leon Bridges on his Good Thing Tour. Take a look at the show dates below.

Headline tour dates:
Monday, March 25, 2019 - San Francisco, CA - Regency Ballroom
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 - Los Angeles, CA - The Wiltern
Friday, March 29, 2019 - Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue
Saturday, March 30, 2019 - Chicago, IL - Vic Theatre
Wednesday, April 1, 2019 - Boston, MA - House of Blues
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 - New York, NY - Terminal 5
Friday, April 5, 2019 - Washington, DC - Lincoln Theatre
Saturday, April 6, 2019 - Philadelphia, PA - Union Transfer
Saturday, April 27, 2019 - Dallas, TX - Bomb Factory

Leon Bridges tour dates:
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 - Charlottesville, VA - Sprint Pavilion
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - Charlotte, NC - Charlotte Metro Credit
Friday, April 12, 2019 - Chattanooga, TN - Soilders & Sailors Memorial Aud
Monday, April 15, 2019 - Asheville, NC - Thomas Wolfe Auditorium
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - St. Augustine, FL - Saint Augustine Amp.
Thursday, April 18, 2019 - Clearwater, FL - Ruth Eckerd Hall
Friday, April 19, 2019 - Miami Beach, FL- Fillmore Miami Beach
Saturday, April 20, 2019 - Lake Buena Vista, FL - House of Blues
Monday, April 22, 2019 - Mobile, AL - Saenger Theatre
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 - Birmingham, AL - BJCC Concert Hall
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - Memphis, TN - Orpheum Theatre
Friday, April 26, 2019 - The Woodlands, TX - Cynthia Woods
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - Tulsa, OK - Brady Theatre
Saturday, May 4, 2019 - Columbus, OH - Express Live!
Sunday, May 5, 2019 - Cleveland, OH - Jacobs Pavillion at Nautica