We the Kings Announce Fan-Driven New Album 'Six,' Unveil First Track 'On My Love': Premiere

We The Kings
Lee Cherry

We The Kings

If you loved the anthemic pop-punk sound We the Kings established with their self-titled album in 2007, prepare yourself for some throwback jamming. The group is back with their sixth album, and it's the record fans have been waiting for -- literally and figuratively.

Appropriately titled SIX, the name serves a dual purpose, highlighting the album number in WTK's discography, as well as the sixth member of the band: the fans. This isn't just because the guys (Travis Clark, Hunter Thomsen, Danny Duncan, Charles Trippy and Coley O'Toole) are grateful that their fans have stuck around for more than a decade, but also because they are the reason the album is happening.

SIX is the product of a PledgeMusic campaign We the Kings held for their sixth LP, which reached its goal late last year and inspired the guys to channel the same magic they created when they were first starting out. After a few bumps in the road with determining a release date, SIX is officially on the way July 6 via S-Curve Records/BMG, kicking off with the first track "On My Love," premiering on Billboard below:

The bright pop-rock tune features haunting guitar, which builds as Clark's echoing voice delivers heartfelt lines like "Even if your wings don't hit the ground/ I'll be here, all for you." Once the dynamic chorus hits, We the Kings fans are hit with a wave of nostalgia, as the amplified instruments and Clark's passionate voice are reminiscent of the buoyant spirit WTK introduced 11 years ago.

"I learned the expression 'On My Love' from my wife’s family -- they use it all the time to prove that they are being honest and telling the truth," Clark explains of the track's inspiration, which can also apply to We the Kings' close relationship with fans. "This song is about swearing on my love that no matter where life takes us, we will always be there for each other. 'Even if the worst takes us through hell, I’ll be here for you.'"

Just before the album drops, We the Kings will kick off a summer-long stint on the final Vans Warped Tour. Take a look at the full list of tour dates here, as well as the album artwork -- featuring the faces of those who contributed to the band's PledgeMusic campaign -- and track list below.


1. On My Love
2. The Ocean and the Sun
3. Even If It Kills Me
4. Mama Knows Best
5. Ride
6. Alive
7. I Won’t Settle
8. Festival Music
9. Planes, Trains, and Cars
10. Immortal
11. What I Wouldn’t Give