Sam Smith Announces 'The Thrill of it All' Album Release Date, 2018 North American Tour

Smith also dropped the Timbaland-produced gospel single "Pray."

Sam Smith is ready for his close-up. The singer released the title of his eagerly anticipated second album on Friday morning (Oct. 6), The Thrill of it All, due out Nov. 3, along with the arresting cover image: a black and white close-up of his stubble-covered face. Smith will appear as the musical guest on Saturday Night Live this weekend and he dropped a new single, "Pray," to get fans hyped for the performance. 

The Timbaland-produced song ups the tempo from the album's first single, "Too Good at Goodbye," but just a bit, adding in a classic stuttering Tim beat and gospel choir backing vocals as the singer laments, "I'm not a saint, I'm more of a sinner/ I don't wanna lose, but I fear for the winners/ When I try to explain, the words run away/ That's why I am stood here today." The track was co-produced by Smith's longtime collaborator, Jimmy Napes, who worked on the album's 10 songs alongside other producers including Malay, Jason "Poo Bear" Boyd and Stargate. Unsigned singer YEBBA is featured on the song "No Peace."

Smith will hit the road next summer for an extensive North American arena tour that will kick off with a June 18 show at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto. The standard version of the follow-up to Smith's Grammy-winning 2014 debut, In the Lonely Hour, contains 10 tracks, with the deluxe version adding on four bonus songsl; pre-order the album here to receive an instant download of "Pray" and first single "Too Good at Goodbyes."

The Thrill of it All track list:

"Too Good at Goodbyes"

"Say it First"

"One Last Song"

"Midnight Train"



"Baby, You Make Me Crazy"

"No Peace" (feat. YEBBA)



U.S. deluxe edition bonus tracks:

"Nothing Left for You"

"The Thrill of it All"


"One Day at a Time"

Tickets for the tour go on sale to the general public on Oct. 12, with each ticket purchased online including a copy of the album. An exclusive 24-hour pre-sale for fans will begin on Oct. 11 at 10 a.m. local time here.

The Thrill of it All 2018 tour dates:

June 18 – Toronto, ON @ Air Canada Centre

June 19 – Montreal, QC @ Bell Centre

June 22 – Detroit, MI @ Little Caesars Arena

June 23 – Columbus, OH @ Nationwide Arena

June 26 – Boston, MA @ TD Garden

June 27 – Brooklyn, NY @ Barclays Center

June 29 – New York, NY @ Madison Square Garden

July 3 – Washington, DC @ Capital One Arena

July 4 – Philadelphia, PA @ Wells Fargo Center

July 6 – Charlotte, NC @ Spectrum Center

July 7 – Nashville, TN @ Bridgestone Arena

July 10 – Duluth, GA @ Infinite Energy Center

July 11 – Orlando, FL @ Amway Center

July 13 – Tampa, FL @ Amalie Arena

July 14 – Miami, FL @ AmericanAirlines Arena

July 17 – New Orleans, LA @ Smoothie King Center

July 18 – Houston, TX @ Toyota Center

July 20 – Dallas, TX @ American Airlines Center

July 21 – Austin, TX @ Frank Erwin Center

July 25 – Monterrey, MX @ Arena Monterrey

July 27 – Mexico City, MX @ Palacio de los Deportes

August 14 – Saint Paul, MN @ Xcel Energy Center

August 15 – Chicago, IL @ United Center

August 17 – St. Louis, MO @ Chaifetz Arena

August 18 – Kansas City, MO @ Sprint Center

August 21 – Denver, CO @ Pepsi Center

August 22 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Vivint Smart Home Arena

August 24 – Sacramento, CA @ Golden 1 Center

August 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ STAPLES Center

August 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ STAPLES Center

August 31 – Glendale, AZ @ Gila River Arena

Sept. 1 – San Diego, CA @ Valley View Casino Center

Sept. 4 – Oakland, CA @ Oracle Arena

Sept. 5 – San Jose, CA @ SAP Center

Sept. 7 – Portland, OR @ Moda Center

Sept. 8 – Seattle, WA @ KeyArena

Sept. 10 – Vancouver, BC @ Pepsi Live at Rogers Arena

Sept. 12 – Edmonton, AB @ Rogers Place

Sept. 13 – Calgary, AB @ Scotiabank Saddledome