Michael Jackson 'SCREAM' Collection Coming Sept. 29

The 13-track set features ‘Thriller,’ ‘Dirty Diana’ and new bonus track ‘Blood on the Dance Floor X Dangerous’ from remixer The White Panda.

As teased on Monday (Sept. 4) on Twitter, Michael Jackson’s SCREAM—a 13-track collection featuring the classics “Thriller” and “Dirty Diana”—will be released on Sept. 29. The project, a collaboration between Epic/Legacy Recordings and The Estate of Michael Jackson, also boasts a newly created bonus track, “Blood on the Dance Floor X Dangerous.”

Remixed by The White Panda, the bonus track is a mash-up of five songs: “Blood on the Dance Floor,” “Dangerous,” “This Place Hotel,” “Leave Me Alone” and “Is It Scary.” The mash-up premiered exclusively today (Sept. 6) on Shazam, with fans given a two-hour window (7 a.m.-9 a.m. ET) to Shazam any Michael Jackson song and unlock the new track. “Blood on the Dance Floor X Dangerous” will also be offered as an instant free track with pre-orders of SCREAM digitally and will be available on all streaming platforms.

The announcement of SCREAM follows on the heels of the world premiere of Michael Jackson’s Thriller 3D at the Venice Film Festival (Sept. 4). In addition to the CD format (click here to order), a glow-in-the-dark two LP vinyl edition of the album will become available on Oct. 27. Each physical format will feature a unique poster. In turn, the poster and cover art conceal another surprise:  the first-ever augmented reality (AR) experience created for a Jackson project.

SCREAM is available for iTunes pre-order now.

Among the album’s 13 tracks are The Jacksons’ “This Place Hotel,” the first single written, composed and arranged solely by Michael Jackson, and “Somebody’s Watching Me.” Jackson sings the hook on the latter track, an international hit in 1985 by Rockwell and now making its first appearance on a Michael Jackson album.

Official Michael Jackson SCREAM album celebrations will take place this fall in six major cities around the world: Paris, London, Sydney, Berlin, Los Angeles and Tokyo. Fans will be treated to screenings of Jackson’s seven short films from the SCREAM album during the celebrations followed by an after party. The screenings will include the 40-minute Michael Jackson’s Ghosts, rarely seen since its initial showing at the 1997 Cannes Film Festival. Additional information about the SCREAM album celebrations will be announced shortly.

SCREAM track list:

1.   This Place Hotel
2.   Thriller
3.   Blood On the Dance Floor
4.   Somebody’s Watching Me
5.   Dirty Diana
6.   Torture
7.   Leave Me Alone
8.   Scream
9.   Dangerous
10. Unbreakable
11. Xscape
12. Threatened
13. Ghosts

Bonus Track:  Blood On the Dance Floor X Dangerous (The White Panda Mash-Up)