Aretha Franklin

Daryl Hall & John Oates Narrate the Story of How They Met – In Cartoon Form: Watch

Rommel Demano/Getty Images
Daryl Hall and John Oates of Hall & Oates visit at SiriusXM Studios on Feb. 18, 2015 in New York City. 

Bert and Ernie? Abbott and Costello? Peanut butter and jelly? It's hard to think of a more iconic pair than Hall & Oates, who kick off a massive North American summer tour on May 4.

While everyone knows their indelible roster of hits (which includes six Billboard Hot 100 No. 1s), you might not know the story of how Daryl Hall and John Oates initially linked up back in the day. If that's the case, allow this cartoon retelling entitled "How We Met," narrated by Hall and Oates themselves, to shed some light on their origin story.

Despite their smooth, soulful run of hits, the story of how Hall & Oates met is a lot more violent than you might anticipate -- it involves angry frat boys, bike chains and gunshots.

Check it in the cartoon retelling below, premiering exclusively on Billboard. Beneath the video, peruse Hall & Oates' 2017 tour dates. The tour also features Tears for Fears and an acoustic opening performance from Allen Stone.

TOUR DATES

Thursday, May 04                            Tulsa, OK                             BOK Center

Saturday, May 06                             St. Louis, MO                     Scottrade Center

Monday, May 08                              Des Moines, IA                 Wells Fargo Arena

Thursday, May 11                            St. Paul, MN                       Xcel Energy Center

Saturday, May 13                             Milwaukee, WI           BMO Harris Bradley Center

Monday, May 15                              Chicago, IL                           Allstate Arena

Wednesday, May 17                       Detroit, MI                          Joe Louis Arena

Saturday, May 20                             Cleveland, OH                   Quicken Loans Arena

Monday, May 22                              Columbus, OH                   Schottenstein Center

Wednesday, May 24                       Nashville, TN                      Bridgestone Arena

Wednesday, June 07                      Miami, FL                             AmericanAirlines Arena

Friday, June 09                                  Orlando, FL                         Amway Center

Sunday, June 11                               Duluth, GA                          Infinite Energy Center

Tuesday, June 13                             Pittsburgh, PA                   PPG Paints Arena

Friday, June 16                                  Queens, NY                        Forest Hills Stadium

Saturday, June 17                            Newark, NJ                         Prudential Center

Monday, June 19                             Toronto, ON                       Air Canada Centre

Wednesday, June 21                      Quebec City, QC               Videotron Centre

Saturday, June 24                            Boston, MA                        TD Garden

Monday, June 26                             Washington, D.C.             Verizon Center

Tuesday, July 11                               Dallas, TX                     American Airlines Center

Thursday, July 13                              San Antonio, TX              AT&T Center

Saturday, July 15                              Denver, CO               Fiddler’s Green Amphitheatre

Monday, July 17                               Glendale, AZ                      Gila River Arena

Wednesday, July 19                        San Diego, CA      Valley View Casino Center

Friday, July 21                                    Las Vegas, NV                    T-Mobile Arena

Sunday, July 23                                 Sacramento, CA                Golden 1 Center

Tuesday, July 25                               San Jose, CA                       SAP Center

Friday, July 28                                    Los Angeles, CA                STAPLES Center

Saturday, July 29                              Los Angeles, CA                STAPLES Center